HC Deb 17 January 1992 vol 201 cc658-60W
Dr. Bray

To ask the Prime Minister if he will list the current members of the Advisory Council on Science and Technology; if he will give the date of their original appointment; and what is the date on which their current term of office will end.

The Prime Minister

The current members of the advisory Council on Science and Technology are as listed. In addition, the chief scientific adviser, Cabinet Office, Professor William Stewart, attends council meetings. Departmental chief scientists/scientific advisers are also invited to attend most meetings.

Name Date of original appointment Appointment ends
Sir Robin Nicholson (Chairman) Executive Director, Pilkington plc July 1990 July 1993
Professor Roy Anderson Department of Pure & Applied Biology Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine July 1989 July 1992
Professor Sir Michael Atiyah President, The Royal Society July 1991 July 1994
Professor Michael Brady Department of Engineering Science, University of Oxford July 1990 July 1993
Lord Chilver Chairman, Universities Funding Council May 1989 1n/a
Dr. Peter Doyle Director of Research and Technology, Imperial Chemical Industries plc July 1989 July 1992
Mr. Ian Harvey Chief Executive, British Technology Group July 1989 July 1992
Mr. Keith Henry Chief Executive, Brown and Root Ltd July 1991 July 1994
Sir Graham Hills Past Principal of University of Strathclyde July 1987 2 July 1993
Dr. Nigel Home Head of IT Practice, KPMG Management Consulting July 1990 July 1993
Professor Christopher Llewellyn Smith, Chairman of Physics, University of Oxford July 1989 July 1992
Professor Leonard Maunder Department of Mechanical, Materials and Manufacturing Engineering, University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne July 1987 July 19932
Professor Sir David Phillips Chairman, Advisory Board for the Research Councils July 1987 1n/a
Professor Gareth Roberts Vice Chancellor, University of Sheffield July 1989 July 1992
Sir Alfred Shepperd Former Chairman and Chief Executive, Wellcome plc July 1989 July 1992
Dr. David Smith Consultant July 1987 2 July 1993
Dr. William Wilkinson Deputy Chief Executive, British Nuclear Fuels plc July 1990 July 1993
Sir Martin Wood Deputy Chairman, Oxford Instruments Group plc July 1990 July 1993
1 Lord Chilver and Professor Sir David Phillips are ex-officio members in their capacities as chairman of the Universities Funding

Council and Chairman of the Advisory Board for the Research Councils respectively.

2 Members in their second term.