HC Deb 19 February 1992 vol 204 cc161-2W
Mr. Simon Hughes

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department if he will list the local authorities who have now adopted the model byelaw relating to the use of skateboards on pavements, roads and footpaths; and if he will make a statement.

Mr. Peter Lloyd

Since 1978, the Home Office has offered local authorities a model byelaw which prohibits the use of skateboards and roller skates on footways and carriageways to the danger of other persons lawfully using the footway or carriageway. In 1990, the model byelaw was modified to make it an offence for a person using a skateboard or roller skates to cause not only danger but also nuisance or reasonable grounds for annoyance to other persons using the footway or carriageway.

Our records indicate that 66 local authorities have adopted the 1978 model byelaws, and that to date one local authority has adopted the 1990 model wording. The local authorities are:

  1. (a) Authorities which have adopted the 1978 model byelaws:
    • Adure district council
    • Arun district council
    • Babergh district council
    • Beverley district council
    • Birmingham district council
    • Bracknell district council
    • Broxbourne borough council
    • Bury borough council
    • Calderdale borough council
    • Caradon district council
    • Chelmsford borough council
    • Chichester district council
    • Colchester borough council
    • Congleton borough council
    • Dover district council
    • Fareham borough council
    • Gosport borough council
    • Gravesham borough council
    • Great Yarmouth borough council
    • Guildford borough council
    • Hart district council
    • Hastings borough council
    • Horsham district council
    • Isles of Scilly council
    • Kettering borough council
    • Leeds city council
    • 162
    • Lichfield district council
    • Luton borough council
    • Maldon district council
    • Melton district council
    • Mid Sussex district council
    • Montgomeryshire district council
    • Newcastle-under-Lyme borough council
    • Newport borough council
    • North devon district council
    • Peterborough city council
    • Poole borough council
    • Reading borough council
    • Reigate and Banstead borough council
    • Rhymney Valley district council
    • Rother district council
    • Salisbury district council
    • Scarborough borough council
    • Sedgemoor district council
    • Shepway district council
    • Slough borough council
    • Southampton city council
    • Southend-on-Sea borough council
    • South Lakeland district council
    • South Northamptonshire district council
    • South Shropshire district council
    • South Tyneside borough council
    • South Wight borough council
    • Stoke-on-Trent city council
    • Sutton borough council
    • Tendring district council
    • Thanet district council
    • Tunbridge Wells borough council
    • Warrington borough council
    • Wokingham district council
    • Woodspring district council
    • Worcester city council
    • Worthing borough council
    • Wrexham Maelor borough council
    • Wychavon district council
    • Wycombe district council
  2. (b) Authorities which have adopted the 1990 model byelaws:
    • Stratford-on-Avon district council

Back to