HL Deb 10 July 1991 vol 530 c89WA
Lord Kennet

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Which government department is responsible for space safety.

The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department of Trade and Industry (Lord Reay)

The United Kingdom is party to a number of UN Conventions regulating space activities. Signatories to these conventions accept liability for damage caused by the space activities of their nationals. To give effect to United Kingdom obligations under the relevant conventions, licences are issued under the Outer Space Act 1986 by the British National Space Centre on behalf of the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry. The Secretary of State has to be satisfied that a licensed activity will not jeopardise public health and the safety of persons and property.