HC Deb 28 February 1991 vol 186 cc572-4W
Mr. Galbraith

To ask the Secretary of State for Scotland if he will give the nominating body or person for each health board member as of 1 April 1991.

Mr. Michael Forsyth

The information requested is as follows.

Those members of health boards who did not seek reappointment or who were ineligible for reappointment were not considered for membership of the new health boards. Those existing members seeking reappointment were nominated by their health board.

Health Board Nominating Body, if any
Argyll and Clyde
Mrs. E. S. Lander CBI
Mr. C. H. Parker CBI

Health Board Nominating Body, if any
Ayrshire and Arran
Dr. K. G. Fegan Health Board
Mr. W. M. Ritchie Health Board
Mr. D. A. G. Kilshaw Health Board
Miss M. Marshall Scottish Association for Mental Health
Mr. F. J. R. Craig Self
Mrs. M. Steedman OBE Self
Mr. G. M. Thomson Health Board
Forth Valley
Dr. G. B. Hastings Strathclyde University
Mr. C. S. R. Stroyan Self
Mrs. K. A. Smith Women's Royal Voluntary Service
Dr. C. A. MacLeod Self
Prof. D. Ogston University of Aberdeen
Greater Glasgow
Mr. A. Scobbie Self
Mr. D. J. Mackay CBI
Mrs. A. Macpherson Ross and Cromarty Council of Voluntary Service
Prof R. C. B. Aitken University of Edinburgh
Mr. R. Findlay Self
Mrs. M. B. M. Knox Lord James Douglas-Hamilton
Mr. E. M. Gibson MBE Health Board
Mrs. E. B. Kerr Orkney Local Health Council
Mr. J. Rendall Voluntary Services Orkney
Mrs. M. U. Colligan Shetland Islands Council
Sqn. Ldr. B. P. Gregson Health Board
Mr. R. L. Johnston Health Board
Mr. R. J. Jarvis Self
Prof. R. E. Olver University of Dundee
Western Isles
Mr. I. D. Mclver Health Board

Mr. David Marshall

To ask the Secretary of State for Scotland if he will list in theOfficial Report the names, addresses and qualifications of all persons appointed to each of the newly reconstituted health boards in Scotland.

Mr. Michael Forsyth

I refer the hon. Member to the reply given on Wednesday 13 February to my hon. Friend the Member for Tayside, North (Mr. Walker) at columns525–26. Two further appointments have been made since then as follows:

Appointments Residence
Tayside Health Board
Mr. R. J. Jarvis Dunning
Western Isles Health Board
Rev. J. A. MacDonald Daliburgh

Health board members are appointed for their experience, abilities and personal qualities and not on the basis of specific qualifications which may not be relevant to their appointment.

Back to