HC Deb 25 February 1991 vol 186 cc346-9W
Ms. Richardson

To ask the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry whether he will list the current members of the Monopolies and Mergers Commission and give the relevant experience of each member; how many of the commission are female; and what percentage of the total membership they comprise.

Members of the MMC as at 22 February 1991
Name Position Relevant experience
Sir Sydney Lipworth Chairman Co-founder and former Deputy Chairman of Allied Dunbar Assurance pic and Chairman of Allied Dunbar Units Trusts plc. Barrister.
Mr. P. H. Dean Deputy Chairman Free-lance business consultant. A former Executive Director of the RTZ Corporation plc. Solicitor.
Mr. H. H. Hunt CBE Deputy Chairman Former Managing Director of PA Computers and Telecommunications Ltd (PACTEL). Accountant.
Mr. H. H. Liesner CB Deputy Chairman Former Chief Economic Adviser at the Department of Trade and Industry.
Mr. A. Armstrong Member Senior lecturer in Economics, Bristol University.
Mr. C. Baillieu Member Former Chairman and Managing Director of Ultrasonic Machines.
Mr. I. S. Barter Member Former Chairman and Chief Executive of Unigate International Division. Barrister.
Professor M. E. Beesley CBE Member Founding Professor of Economics at London Business School and Government Economic Adviser.
Mrs. C. M. Blight Member Solicitor and Economist. Member of the Law Society of Scotland, Lecturer at University of Edinburgh and Councillor for Gas Consumers in Scotland.
Mr. F. E Bonner CBE Member Former Deputy Chairman of Central Electricity Generating Board. Accountant.
Mr. J. S. Bridgeman Member Managing Director, Enterprises Division of British Alcan Aluminium.
Mr. L. Britz Member Executive Councillor of the Electrical Electronic Telecommunication and Plumbing Union (EETPU), Southern Region. Director of British International Helicopters.
Mr. K. S. Carmichael CBE Member Managing Partner of Longcrofts, Chartered Accountants.
Mr. R. Davies Member Former Chairman of the Thomson Travel Group.
Professor S. Eilon Member Former Head of Department of Management Science and presently Senior Research Fellow at Imperial College. Management Consultant.
Mr. J. Evans Member Former Chairman of the Press Association, of Times Newspapers and of the International Thomson Organisation. Solicitor and Barrister.
Mr. A Ferry MBE Member General Secretary of the Confederation of Shipbuilding and Engineering Workers. Director of Harland and Wolff.
Mr. D. G. Goyder Member Consultant to Birketts Westhorp and Long of Ipswich and Colchester. Lecturer on Company and Competition law. Solicitor.
Mr. M. Hoffman Member Group Chief Executive, Thames Water. Chartered Engineer.
Mr. J. D. Keir QC Member Former Joint Secretary of Unilever. Chairman of Pharmacists Review Panel. Barrister.

Mr. Redwood

The current members of the Monopolies and Mergers Commission are listed together with a summary of their relevant experience. Two (6per cent.) are female.

Name Position Relevant experience
Miss P. K. R. Mann Member Vice-President of J. Walter Thompson (JWT) International. Editor 'Consumer Affairs'.
Mr. G. C. S. Mather Member General Director of the Institute of Economic Affairs. Solicitor.
Mr. L. A. Mills Member General Secretary of the Banking Insurance and Finance Union and a member of the TUC General Council. A Governor of London Business School.
Professor A. P. L. Minford Member Professor of Applied Economics, Liverpool University.
Mr. J. Montgomery Member Former Head of Legal Division and Company Secretary, Shell UK. Solicitor.
Mr. B. Owens Member Director of Welsh Water's land and leisure subsidiary and of the Cornish Brewery Company.
Mr. D. P. Thompson RD Member Former Director General of the British Invisible Exports Council and Director of Lazards. A Governor of Henley Management College.
Mr. C. A. Unwin MBE Member Former Regional Secretary (Midland and East Coast Region) of the General and Municipal Workers Union. A senior Governor of Welbeck College.
Mr. S. Wainwright CBE Member Director of Amdahl (UK) Ltd. Former Managing Director of National Girobank and Deputy Chairman of the Post Office.
Professor G. Whittington Member Price Waterhouse Professor of Financial Accounting and Fellow of Cambridge University.
Mr. R. Young Member An Executive Director of Beauford plc. Former Chief Executive of Plastics Division of McKechnie plc.
Mr. P. Brenan Reserve Member Chairman of the London Italian Bank. Accountant and Financial Consultant.
Mr. A. L. Kingshott Reserve Member Director of the Crown Agents and of The Private Bank and Trust Company. Former Director of International Banking at Lloyds Bank. Chartered Secretary.
Professor J. F. Pickering Reserved Member Vice-President (Business and Finance) of Portsmouth Polytechnic.
Mr. L. Priestly Reserve Member Board Member of the Civil Aviation Authority. Former Chairman and Chief Executive of Trustee Saving Bank, England and Wales and Secretary-General of the Committee of London Clearing Banks.

Forward to