HC Deb 17 April 1991 vol 189 c189W
Mr. Foulkes

To ask the Secretary of State for Employment whether he will list the current members of the Health and Safety Commission and give the relevent experience of each member; how many of the commission are females; and what percentage of the total membership they comprise.

Mr. Jackson

The Health and Safety Commission consists of the following members, including the chairman, with their relevant experience:

John Cullen FEng. Phd.—worked in industry for 27 years becoming European director for regulatory affairs, engineering and health and safety for Rohm and Haas Limited. He has been chairman of the Health and Safety Commission since October 1983.

Edward Carrick—has extensive experience in local government including vice convenor of the Convention of Scottish Local Authorities' environmental committee. He has also been involved in safety standards and training in the construction industry.

Paul Gallagher—has been president since 1987 of the Electrical Electronic Telecommunication and Plumbing Union. He has wide negotiating experience in industry.

Peter Jacques CBE—is head of the social insurance and industrial welfare department, TUC and has been a member of the Health and Safety Commission since October 1974.

John C. Marvin—was chief executive-chairman of Hickson International from 1985 to 1990. Previously with ICI, including spells abroad, his special interests are in relation to the Chemical Industries Association.

Dr. Colin Shannon CBE—has wide experience in local government at district and national representative levels. He has been vice chairman of the Institute of Environmental Health Officers since 1983.

Nigel J. Pitcher—is a chartered engineer with wide experience in the contracting industry from power stations to motorways. He is a director of 12 Laing group companies including Laing Engineering Limited and John Laing Construction.

Rex H. M. Symons—is deputy chairman of Merck Holdings Ltd. also a director of British Drug Houses Ltd. being managing director from 1981 to 1989. He acts as the Confederation of British Industry's work place health and safety consultant and is the executive vice-chairman of the Dorset training and enterprise council.

Alan Tuffin—is general secretary of the Union of Communication Workers and a member of the TUC general council. He is chairman of the TUC's social insurance and industrial welfare committee.

Dame Rachel Waterhouse—recently retired as chair-man of the Consumers Association, having been a member since 1966. She still serves as a member. President of the Institute of Consumer Ergonomics. Wide experience in consumer and social affairs, having specialised in health and safety matters.

The Commission has one female member, which is 10 per cent. of the total.