HC Deb 15 April 1991 vol 189 cc32-3W
Mr. McFall

To ask the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry whether he will list the current members of the Food Advisory Committee and give the relevant experience of each member; how many of the Committee are females; and what percentage of the total membership they comprise.

Mr. Maclean

I have been asked to reply.

The members of the Food Advisory Committee are:

Dr. Ewan S. Page (Chairman) MA PhD BSc CBIM FBCS C eng FASA Vice Chancellor Reading University.

Dr. Margret Ashwell Bsc (Hons) PhD FIFST FRSH Science Director British Nutrition Foundation.

Mr. Dennis Cumming Director of Quality Assurance, Safeway PLC.

Professor Douglas Georgala CBE PhD FIFST Director of Food Research, AFRC and Director of the Institute of Food Research.

Dr. Tom Gorsuch OBE BSc PhD FIFST Former Director of Research and Quality Control, Colmans of Norwich (Retired).

Professor Marian Hicks BSC PhD DSc FRCPath Science Director United Biscuits (UK) Ltd. Group Research and Development Centre.

Mr. Roger Manley FITSA Director of Trading Standards, Cheshire County Council.

Miss Patricia Mann FCAM, FIPA CBIM FRSA Head of External Affairs, J. Walter Thompson Group.

Miss Jill Moore OBE Member of National Consumer Council and Vice President of National Federation of Consumer Groups.

Dr. Bryan Nichols MSc PhD FIFST Legislation and Health Policy Manager, Van den Berghs and Jurgens Ltd.

Mr. Ronald Nicolson M Chem A FIFST FIWEM C'Chem FRSC Regional Chemist, Public Analyst and Agricultural Analyst for the Regional Council of Strathclyde, and Public Analyst and Agricultural Analyst for the Western Isles Island Council.

Mrs. Barbara Saunders BA (Hons) Freelance Consultant on Consumer Policy, Member of the European Commission's Consumer Consultative Committee.

Mr. Tony Skrimshire CChem FRSC FIFST Director, Purchasing and Quality Assurance, H. J. Heinz Company Ltd.

Professor Paul Turner MD BSc FRCP Hon FIBiol FFPM Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, St. Bartholomew's Hospital.

Dr. Roger G. Whitehead BSc MA PhD FIBiol C Biol Hon MRCP Director of the Medical Research Council's Dunn Nutrition Unit, Cambridge, UK and the Gambia, West Africa.

Five members are women, one third of the membership.

This information is published approximately every six weeks with the agenda for the forthcoming meeting of the committee.

Community Charge Payments in Newport East and West: 1991–92
District Community (1) Charge exc. Community Council Charge £ (2) General Community Charge Reduction £ (1)–(2) £ Community Charge Reduction Scheme for Communities £ Net Community Charge exc. Comm. Council Charge (a) £ Average Community Council Charge (a) £ Average Community Charge £
Newport Average 275 140 135 11 124 1 125
Newport Allt-yr-yn 275 140 135 0 135
Newport Alway 275 140 135 0 135
Newport Beechwood 275 140 135 0 135
Newport Bettws 275 140 135 7 128
Newport Bishton 275 140 135 27 108
Newport Caerleon 275 140 135 0 135
Newport Coedkernew 275 140 135 15 120
Newport Gaer 275 140 135 0 135
Newport Goldcliffe 275 140 135 28 107
Newport Graig 275 140 135 0 135
Newport Langstone 275 140 135 0 135
Newport Liswerry 275 140 135 27 108
Newport Llanvaches 275 140 135 0 135

Forward to