HC Deb 14 May 1990 vol 172 cc281-2W
Mr. Ashdown

To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland if he will list the local councils which have police liaison committees; and if he will make a statement.

Mr. Cope

The following councils have police liaison committees:

  • Ards
  • Antrim
  • Ballymena
  • Ballymoney
  • Banbridge
  • Belfast
  • Carrickfergus
  • Castlereagh
  • Coleraine
  • Craigavon
  • Derry
  • Down
  • Dungannon
  • Fermanagh
  • Larne
  • Limavady
  • Lisburn
  • Magherafelt
  • Moyle
  • 282
  • Newtownabbey
  • North Down
  • Strabane

I understand that the Police Authority for Northern Ireland is hopeful that further committees will be established. But if this is not possible alternative arrangements will be considered to ensure that there is effective consultation between the RUC and the community.