HC Deb 26 July 1990 vol 177 cc527-30W
Mr. Brazier

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence if he will list all the regiments and corps in the British Army, indicating the number of regular and Territorial Army units of that cap badge in each case.

Mr. Archie Hamilton

The information requested is given in the table. Territorial Army units of the same cap badge as Regular Army units are those bearing the same name as the Regular unit. A major unit is one of battalion size or equivalent.

The Corps and Regiments of the British Army:
Regular Units: Territorial Army Units:
1. Household Cavalry
The Life Guards The Royal Yeomanry
The Blues and Royals (Royal Horse Guards and 1st Dragoons) The Royal Wessex Yeomanry
2. Royal Armoured Corps.
1st The Queen's Dragoon Guards The Queen's Own Mercian Yeomanry
The Royal Scots Dragoon Guards (Carabiniers and Greys) The Queen's Own Yeomanry
4th/7th Royal Dragoon Guards The Duke of Lancaster's Own Yeomanry
5th Royal Inniskilling Dragoon Guards
The Queen's Own Hussars
The Queen's Royal Irish Hussars
9th/12th Royal Lancers (Prince of Wales's)
The Royal Hussars (Prince of Wales's Own)
13th/18th Royal Hussars (Queen Mary's Own)
14th/20th King's Hussars
15th/19th The King's Royal Hussars
16th/5th The Queen's Royal Lancers
17th/21st Lancers
1 Royal Tank Regiment
2 Royal Tank Regiment
3 Royal Tank Regiment
4 Royal Tank Regiment

Regular Units: Territorial Army Units:
3. Royal Regiment of Artillery
22 major units 6 major units
4. Royal Engineers
13 major units1 8 major units
5. Royal Signals
16 major units2 11 major units
6. Infantry
(a) The Guards Division
1 Grenadier Guards
2 Grenadier Guards
1 Coldstream Guards
2 Coldstream Guards
1 Scots Guards
2 Scots Guards
1 Irish Guards
1 Welsh Guards
(b) The Scottish Division
1 Royal Scots (The Royal Regiment) 1/52nd Lowland Volunteers
1 Royal Highland Fusiliers (Princess Margaret's own Glasgow and Ayrshire Regiment) 2/52 Lowland Volunteers
1 King's Own Scottish Borderers 1/51st Highland Volunteers
1 Black Watch 2/51st Highland Volunteers
1 Queen's Own Highlanders (Seaforth and Camerons) 3/51st Highland Volunteers
1 Gordon Highlanders
1 Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (Princess Louise's)
(c) The Queen's Division
1 Queen's Regiment 5 Queen's Regiment
2 Queen's Regiment 6/7; Queen's Regiment
3 Queen's Regiment
1 Royal Regiment of Fusiliers 5 Royal Regiment of Fusiliers
2 Royal Regiment of Fusiliers 6 Royal Regiment of Fusiliers
3 Royal Regiment of Fusiliers 8 Queen's Fusiliers
1 Royal Anglian Regiment 5 Royal Anglian Regiment
2 Royal Anglian Regiment 6 Royal Anglian Regiment
3 Royal Anglian Regiment 7 Royal Anglian Regiment
(d) The King's Division
1 King's Own Border Regiment 4 King's Own Border Regiment
1 King's Regiment ⅝ King's Regiment
1 Prince of Wales Own Regiment of Yorks
1 Green Howards (Alexandra Princess of Wales's Own Yorkshire Regiment)
1 Royal Irish Rangers (27th (Inniskilling) 83rd and 87th) 4 Royal Irish Rangers (27th (Inniskilling) 83rd and 87th)
2 Royal Irish Rangers (27th (Inniskilling) 83rd and 87th) 5 Royal Irish Rangers (27th (Inniskilling) 83rd and 87th)
1 Queen's Lancashire Regiment 4 Queen's Lancashire Regiment
1 Duke of Wellington's Regiment 1 Yorkshire Volunteers
2 Yorkshire Volunteers
3 Yorkshire Volunteers
4 Yorkshire Volunteers
(e) The Prince of Wales's Division
1 Devonshire and Dorset Regiment 4 Devonshire and Dorset Regiment
1 Cheshire Regiment 3 Cheshire Regiment
1 Royal Welch Fusiliers 3 Royal Welch Fusiliers
1 Royal Regiment of Wales 3 Royal Regiment of Wales
4 Royal Regiment of Wales
1 Gloucestershire Regiment
1 Worcestershire and Sherwood Forester Regiment 3 Worcestershire and Sherwood Foresters Regiment

Regular Units: Territorial Army Units:
4 Worcestershire and Sherwood Foresters Regiment
1 Royal Hampshire Regiment
1 Staffordshire Regiment (The Prince of Wales's) 3 Staffordshire Regiment (The Prince of Wales's)
1 Duke of Edinburgh's Royal 1 Wessex Regiment
Regiment (Berkshire and Wiltshire) 2 Wessex Regiment
(f) The Light Division
1 Light Infantry 5 Light Infantry
2 Light Infantry 6 Light Infantry
3 Light Infantry 7 Light Infantry
8 Light Infantry
1 Royal Green Jackets 4 Royal Green Jackets
2 Royal Green Jackets 5 Royal Green Jackets
3 Royal Green Jackets
(g) The Brigade of Gurkhas
1 2nd King Edward VII's Own Gurkha Rifles
1 2nd King Edward VII's own Gurkha Rifles
6th Queen Elizabeth's Own Gurkha Rifles
7th Duke of Edinburgh's Own Gurkha Rifles
10th Princess Mary's Own Gurkha Rifles
(h) The Parachute Regiment
1 Parachute Regiment 4 Parachute Regiment
2 Parachute Regiment 10 Parachute Regiment
3 Parachute Regiment 15 Parachute Regiment
7. The Special Air Service
1 major unit 2 major units
8. The Honourable Artillery Company
1 major unit
9. Other Corps
Army Air Corps
4 major units3
Royal Army Chaplains Department
Royal Corps of Transport
15 major units4 12 major units
Royal Army Medical Corps
22 major units 29 major units
Royal Army Ordnance Corps
19 major units
Royal Electricial and Mechanical Engineers
22 major units
Royal Military Police
3 major units
Royal Army Pay Corps

Army PVR figures 1983 1st quarter 1990 1st quarter
Male Officers Female Officers Servicemen Servicewomen Total
1st quarter 69 2 417 19 507
2nd quarter 162 3 424 17 606
3rd quarter 146 6 503 19 674
4th quarter 130 5 563 21 719
1st quarter 83 2 569 23 677
2nd quarter 171 7 585 18 781
3rd quarter 153 8 637 24 822
4th quarter 155 8 700 21 884
1st quarter 128 9 730 19 886
2nd quarter 210 9 658 24 901

Regular Units: Territorial Army Units:
Royal Army Veterinary Corps
Small Arms School Corps
Military Provost Staff Corps
1 major unit
Royal Army Educational Corps
Royal Army Dental Corps
Royal Pioneer Corps
Intelligence Corps
4 major units 1 major unit
Army Physical Training Corps
Army Catering Corps
4 major units 1 major unit
Army Legal Corps
General Service Corps
Queen Alexandra's Royal Army Nursing Corps
Women's Royal Army Corps
1 major unit
1 Includes Queen's Ghurka Engineers.
2 Includes Queen's Ghurka Signals.
3 Includes one TA squadron.
4 Includes Ghurka Transport Regiment.