HL Deb 17 January 1990 vol 514 c733WA
Lord Houghton of Sowerby

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Whether it is intended to make further appointments to the Animal Procedures Committee.

The Minister of State, Home Office (Earl Ferrers)

Following his appointment as the Vice-Chancellor of Cambridge, the chairman of the committee, Professor David Williams, has resigned from 31st December 1989. I am pleased to be able to announce that the noble Lord, Lord Nathan, has agreed to succeed him.

I am pleased to be able to announce further that Professor Barry Bridges, of Queen's University, Belfast; Dr. Fiona Broughton-Pipkin, of the Queen's Medical Centre, Nottingham; Dr. Susan Iversen, of Merck, Sharp and Dohme Research Laboratories; and Professor Michael Spyer, of the Royal Free Hospital Medical School, London, have also accepted appointments as members of the committee.

I should like to place on record our appreciation of the excellent way in which Professor Williams has chaired the committee since its formation following the passage of the Animals (Scientific Procedures) Act 1986. My right honourable friend the Home Secretary is grateful to the noble Lord, Lord Nathan, and the other new members for agreeing to serve on this committee.