HC Deb 12 February 1990 vol 167 cc55-6W
Mrs. Gorman

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will publish in theOfficial Report a list of all the quangos and advisory bodies he has established since July 1989, the membership of each body, the rate at which the members are remunerated, whether they are full or part-time, the number of civil servants attached to each body, their grades and salary level, the number of quango and advisory bodies he has abolished since July 1989, and the consequential saving to the Exchequer.

Mr. Chris Patten

The following table lists the current membership of the authorities and members' remuneration of bodies established since July 1989. All posts are part-time. There are no civil servants attached to either body.

National Rivers Authority
Chairman: Lord Crickhowell Remuneration per annum £42,210
Members: P. Brandt £6,450–£ 15,050 depending of time commitment
J. P. Coverdale
Lady Dione Digby (appointed by Welsh Office)
Professor R. Edwards
Sir Hugh Fish
D. Kinnersley
Lord Mason (appointed by MAFF)
D. Mitchell
Mrs. K. Morgan (appointed by MAFF)
J. H. M. Norris
W. J. Rogers-Coltman
R. J. F. Taylor
J. Wheatley

Chief Executive and ex-officio member: Dr. John Bowman (not paid as board member).

London Pensions Fund Authority
Chairman: Sir George Blunden The post attracts a remuneration of £9,600 per annum but the Chairman is currently serving without payment
Deputy Chairman: M. C. Roberts £8,000
Members: Sir Nigel Althaus £3,000
Councillor E. D. Barkway
Councillor S. Bullock
Professor R. Franklin
Councillor A. King
Councillor A. S. Lourie
C. J. Messer

The following public bodies have been abolished since July 1989; New Towns Staff Commission, South Yorkshire Residuary Body and Greater Manchester Residuary Body. The Merseyside Residuary Body will be formally wound up on 30 March 1990. The residuary bodies were not funded by the Exchequer; the abolition of the New Towns Staff Commission has led to a saving of the order of £800 a year for the fees and travelling and subsistence expenses of members.