HC Deb 03 November 1989 vol 159 cc387-8W
Miss Widdecombe

To ask the Secretary of State for Health which of the units that have expressed interest in self-governing status intend to prepare applications to become National Health Service community trusts or National Health Service hospital trusts in April 1991.

Mr. Kenneth Clarke

I will not be able to receive any formal applications until Parliament has given approval to the necessary legislation. Since it is for the sponsor of the proposal in individual units to decide whether and when to prepare an application, the picture is likely to change over time. Amongst those units interested in self-governing status, some are more advanced than others and are likely to be in a position to apply to become an NHS trust in the first wave in April 1991. Others will follow in due course. The preparation of applications is proceeding in many places and the local sponsors are drawing up plans for service development that concentrate on the benefits that establishing an NHS trust could bring to the unit and its patients. Neither I nor any local sponsors have entered into any final commitment at this stage in respect of any unit. Seventy-nine units currently intend to prepare draft applications for NHS Trust status in 1991. The units are listed in the table.

Northern RHA

  • Darlington Hospital and Community Services
  • Freeman Hospital
  • Newcastle Mental Health Services
  • North Tyneside District
  • Northumbria Ambulance Services

Yorkshire RHA

  • Bradford Acute Services
  • Leeds General Infirmary and Associated Hospitals
  • St. James University Hospital, Leeds

Trent RHA

  • Bassetlaw
  • Children's Hospital, Sheffield
  • Doncaster Royal Infirmary and the Montagu Hospital
  • Lincolnshire Ambulance Service
  • Nether Edge Hospital, Sheffield
  • Northern General Hospital
  • Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield
  • South Lincolnshire Mental Handicap Services
  • University Hospital, Nottingham

East Anglian RHA

  • East Suffolk Community Services
  • Great Yarmouth and Waveney Priority Services
  • West Norfolk and Wisbech Community Services
  • West Norfolk and Wisbech Acute Services

North West Thames RHA

  • Central Middlesex Hospital
  • Harefield Hospital
  • Hillingdon Hospital
  • Mount Vernon Hospital
  • 388
  • North West Hertfordshire Priority Services Unit
  • North Hertfordshire Acute and Community Services
  • Northwick Park Hospital

North East Thames RHA

  • City and Hackney (St. Bartholomew's, Homerton, St. Mark's Hospital Trust)
  • North Middlesex Hospital
  • Southend District Services
  • The London Hospital Group
  • The Royal Free Hospital
  • The Royal National Throat, Nose and Ear Hospital

South East Thames RHA

  • Brighton Acute Services
  • Bromley Acute Services
  • Eastbourne Acute Services
  • Guy's and Lewisham Hospitals and associated Mental Illness Services
  • King's-Camberwell Acute Services and associated Community Services
  • St. Thomas's Hospital and associated Community Services

South West Thames RHA

  • Croydon Mental Handicap Unit
  • Croydon Community Unit
  • Kingston Hospital
  • Mid-Downs West Unit
  • Mid-Surrey General Unit
  • South West Surrey Acute Unit
  • St. Helier and Sutton Hospitals

Wessex RHA

  • Lymington Hospitals
  • Royal National Hospital for Rheumatic Diseases
  • West Dorset Community and General Hospital Services
  • West Dorset Mental Health Services

Oxford RHA

  • Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre, Oxford

South Western RHA

  • Bristol
  • Cornwall Mental Handicap Services
  • Cornwall Community Services
  • East Somerset
  • East Gloucestershire NHS Trust
  • Exeter Community Services
  • North Devon
  • Plymouth Acute Services
  • Royal Cornwall Hospitals
  • South Devon Health Care Trust
  • West Somerset
  • West Cornwall
  • Weston
  • Wonford Acute Services

West Midlands RHA

  • Alexandra Hospital
  • Mid Staffs Mental Health Unit
  • Mid Staffs Community Unit
  • Rugby District Services
  • Walsall Acute Services

Mersey RHA

  • Broadgreen Hospital, exc. Mersey Regional Cardio-Thoracic Unit
  • Crewe Acute Services
  • Halton Community Services
  • Regional Adult Cardio-Thoracic Unit, Liverpool
  • Royal Liverpool Children's Hospitals
  • Whiston St. Helens Hospital

North Western RHA

  • Central Manchester Hospital and Community Services
  • Christie Hospital