HC Deb 23 March 1989 vol 149 c770W
Mr. Knox

To ask the Secretary of State for Health if he will make a statement about the membership of the committee on the microbiological safety of food.

Mr. Kenneth Clarke

As I announced in the House on 21 February the chairman of the committee is Professor Sir Mark Richmond, vice chancellor of Manchester university. The Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food and I have decided to invite the following to be members:

  • Dr. Spence Galbraith, former director of the Communicable Disease Surveillance Centre.
  • Professor John Arbuthnott, professor of microbiology, Nottingham University.
  • Dr. Tony Baird-Parker, microbiologist, Unilever Research Laboratories.
  • Mr. "Mac" Johnson, senior lecturer, Royal Veterinary College.
  • Mr. John Moffitt, farmer.
  • Dr. Roy Spencer, director scientific services, Sainsbury plc. Professor George Glew, professor of catering studies, Huddersfield Polytechnic.
  • Professor John Norris, director of research, Cadbury-Schweppes, plc.
  • Mr. Brian Denyer, chief environmental health officer, City of Westminster.
  • Mrs. Rachel Waterhouse CBE, chairman, Consumers Association.
  • Mr. David Clark, food technology manager, Trusthouse Forte plc.

The Committee will be holding its first meeting shortly.