HC Deb 06 June 1989 vol 154 c81W
Mr. Redmond

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will list the sites in the three counties of Yorkshire, and in Humberside which are licensed to dispose of(a) radioactive waste, (b) special waste, and (c) clinical waste.

Mrs. Virginia Bottomley

I refer the hon. Member to the Department's "List of premises in England and Wales currently authorised under the Radioactive Substances Act 1960 to dispose of radioactive waste" which includes premises in the three counties of Yorkshire and Humberside. A copy of this list is in the Library of the House. The numbers of sites in these counties licensed for the disposal of other wastes are listed below. Information on the types of waste licensed for disposal is held by the appropriate waste disposal authority, which is required to maintain a public register.

North Yorkshire 118
South Yorkshire 257
West Yorkshire 443
Humberside 154