HC Deb 12 April 1989 vol 150 c576W
Mr. Redmond

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will list, by location, the sewage outfalls to the sea in(a) the Yorkshire water authority and (b) the Severn-Trent water authority; and of these, if he will show in his answer (i) those that are primary treatment works and (ii) those that are long outfall.

Mr. Moynihan

The Yorkshire water authority currently has the following outfalls which discharge direct to the North Sea:

  • Scarborough (Northern, Southern, Wheatcroft)
  • Bridlington
  • Filey (Brigg)
  • Whitby
  • Hornsea
  • Scalby (Scarborough)
  • Staithes
  • Robin Hood's Bay
  • Runswick Bay
  • Sandsend
  • Ravenscar
  • Withernsea

At Withernsea, sewage currently receives primary treatment before discharge. There are long sea outfalls at Bridlington and Hornsea and a new long sea outfall is under construction at Scarborough to replace the existing outfalls. There are new sewage outfalls to the sea in the Severn-Trent water authority area.