HC Deb 07 March 1988 vol 129 cc75-7W
Mr. Patnick

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment what plans he has for new urban development corporations.

Mr. Ridley

I propose to establish a new urban development corporation in the lower Don Valley, Sheffield, and to extend the remit of the Merseyside development corporation to cover further areas of land in Liverpool and the Wirral. These proposals will be subject to parliamentary approval of the necessary orders.

The lower Don Valley has recently been studied by consultants. The UDC would cover approximately 2,000 acres to the north-east of the city centre and account for public expenditure of about £50 million over seven years. I shall bring forward specific boundary proposals shortly and reach decisions in the light of the view of local interests.

I shall appoint consultants to look at areas identified on Merseyside and to advise on their development potential and boundaries. The areas would cover approximately 800 acres and expenditure could be between £50 million and £90 million over eight or nine years. Decisions on boundaries will be taken in the light of the results of the consultants' study and of the views of local interests.

Mr. Boyes

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will list for each urban development corporation the parliamentary constituencies contained within or overlapped by it.

Mr. Trippier

The constituencies contained within or overlapped by each UDC in England are as follows:

Black Country Development Corporation

  • West Bromwich West
  • West Bromwich East
  • Walsall North
  • Walsall South
  • Warley West
  • Warley East

London Docklands Development Corporation

  • Bethnal Green and Stepney
  • Bow and Poplar
  • Newham South
  • Southwark and Bermondsey

Merseyside Development Corporation

  • Birkenhead
  • Bootle
  • Liverpool Riverside
  • Wallasey

Teeside Development Corporation

  • Hartlepool
  • Redcar
  • Middlesbrough
  • Stockton North
  • Stockton South

Trafford Park Development Corporation

  • Stretford
  • Worsley
  • Davyhulme
  • Salford East
  • Eccles

Tyne and Wear Development Corporation

  • Tyne Bridge
  • Newcastle upon Tyne East
  • Wallsend
  • Tynemouth
  • 77
  • Jarrow
  • South Shields
  • Sunderland North
  • Sunderland South