HC Deb 18 February 1988 vol 127 c734W
Mr. Allan Stewart

To ask the Secretary of State for Scotland whether the Boundary Commission for Scotland intends to conduct any interim reviews of parliamentary constituencies; and if he will make a statement.

Mr. Rifkind

The Boundary Commission for Scotland has informed me that it intends to conduct interim reviews of 16 parliamentary constituencies under section 3 of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986. The constituencies are as followsCarrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley CC and Galloway and Upper Nithsdale CC; Central, Fife CC, Dunfermline, East CC, Fife, North-East CC, and Perth and Kinross CC; Clydesdale CC, East Kilbride CC and Glasgow, Cathcart BC; East Lothian CC, Midlothian CC and Edinburgh, East BC; Monklands, East BC and Falkirk, East CC; Strathkelvin and Bearsden CC and Glasgow, Maryhill BC.

In each case, I understand that the review has been occasioned by alterations to local authority boundaries so that they no longer follow exactly those of the parliamentary constituencies concerned.

Forward to