HC Deb 21 December 1988 vol 144 cc266-7W
Mr. Sumberg

To ask the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster what is the current membership of the advisory panel on deregulation; and when he will be appointing new members.

Mr. Maude

Three new members have been appointed and will join the panel on 1 January 1989. They are:

Mr. Mike Fisher Managing Director, Whale Tankers Ltd., Solihull, West Midlands

Mrs. Jenifer Rosenberg Managing Director, J & J Fashions Ltd., London

Mrs. Celia Urquhart Managing Director, CU Data Ltd., Glasgow

The existing membership of the Advisory Panel on Deregulation is as follows:

Sir Nigel Mobbs DL (Chairman) Chairman & Chief Executive, Slough Estates plc, Slough

Mr. Colin Dauris Chairman & Managing Director, James Dauris & Co. Ltd., London

Mr. George Gray Chairman & Managing Director, Valley Capital Ltd., Carnforth, Lancashire, and Deputy Chairman, Development Commission

Mrs. Teresa Graham Senior Manager, Price Waterhouse, Newcastle

Mr. Damon de Laszlo Chairman, Harwin Ltd., Portsmouth

Mr. Stephen Moss Director, Grosvenor Securities Ltd. and Drakes Restaurant, London

Mr. Tom O'Connor Chairman & Managing Director, Elta Plastics, Stockton-on-Tees

Mr. Phillip White Chairman & Chief Executive, WYKO Group plc, Dudley, West Midlands

The advisory panel has made a useful contribution to the enterprises and deregulation unit's work by advising it on the impact of regulatory requirements on business and enterprise development. I should like to express my gratitude to it and particularly to the four retiring members, Mr. Brian Adgey, Mr. Brian Crack, Mr. Robert Fleeman and Mr. Clive Parritt.

The new appointments will help to ensure the panel's continuing effectiveness as a source of valuable advice.