HC Deb 28 October 1987 vol 121 cc300-1W
Ms. Richardson

asked the Secretary of State for Social Services whether he will (a) list the members of the Committee on Safety of Medicines; (b) state the criteria for selection of members; (c) list the relevant qualifications of present members; (d) indicate the number of Trades Union Congress nominated places; and (e) indicate how many Trades Union Congress nominated places are women.

Mr. Newton

The members of the Committee on Safety of Medicines are:

  • Professor A. W. Asscher, BSc, MD, FRCP, (Chairman), Professor of Renal Medicine, University of Wales, College of Medicine,
  • Dr. G. Booth, B Pharm, PhD, FPS, MCPP, Senior Lecturer in Pharmacy Practice, University of Bradford and ex-President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain
  • Professor A. M. Breckenridge, MD, MSC, FRCP, Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Liverpool
  • Professor J. G. Collee, MD, FRCP, FRCPath. Professor of Bacteriology, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor P. H. Elworthy, B Pharm, PhD, DSc, MSc, CChem, MRSC, FPS, MCPP, Emeritus Professor of Pharmacy University of Manchester, Visiting Professor in Pharmaceutics at King's College, London and School of Pharmacy, London
  • Professor A. T. Florence, PhD, DSc, CChem, FRSC, MPS, MCPP, Professor of Pharmaceutics, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow
  • Professor M. W. Greaves, MD, PhD, FRCP, Professor of Clinical Dermatology, University of London
  • Professor H. S. Jacobs, BA, MD, FRCP, Professor of Reproductive Endocrinology, Middlesex Hospital Medical School, London
  • Dr. W. A. Jerrett, MB, BCh, FRCGP, General Practitioner, Glamorgan
  • Professor M. J. S. Langman, BSc, MD,MBBS, FRCP, Professor of Internal Medicine, University of Birmingham
  • Professor D. H. Lawson, MD, MB, ChB, FRCP(Ed), Consultant Physician in Clinical Pharmacology, Glasgow
  • Mr. F. E. Loeffler, FRCS, FRCOG, Gynaecologist, London
  • Professor J. O'D McGee, MD, PhD, FRCPath, MA,
  • Professor of Morbid Anatomy, Oxford
  • Professor A. E. M. McLean, BM, PhD, FRCPath, Professor of Toxicology, University College Hospital, London
  • Dr. Elizabeth Mayne, MB, BCh, BAO, MRCP, FRCPath, Department of Haematology, University of Belfast
  • Professor S. R. Meadow, MA, FRCP, DCh, Professor of Paediatrics and Child Health, Leeds University
  • Professor S. A. Montgomery, MD. BSc, MB, BS, FRCPsych, DPM Eng, Professor of Psychiatry, St. Mary's Medical School, London
  • Professor G. Nuki, MB, BS, FRCP(Ed), FRCP(Lond), MRCS, Professor of Rheumatology, University of Edinburgh
  • 301
  • DR. B. L. Pentecost, MD, FRCP, Consultant Physician, Birmingham
  • Professor M. D. Rawlins, MD, FRCP, BSc, Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Professor M. P. Vessey, MB, MD, FFCM, Professor of Social and Community Medicine, University of Oxford

Members are appointed for their expertise in medicine and pharmacy. There are no Trades Union Congress-nominated places.