HC Deb 22 October 1987 vol 120 c842W
Ms. Richardson

asked the Secretary of State for Energy whether he will list (a) the members of the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority, (b) the criteria for selection of members, (c) the relevant qualifications of present members, (d) the number of Trades Union Congress-nominated places and (e) how many Trades Union Congress-nominated places are held by women.

Mr. Michael Spicer

The Atomic Energy Authority Act 1954 provides for the Secretary of State for Energy to appoint the chairman and not less than seven nor more than 15 other members of the UKAEA. Clause 1(3) of the Act requires the Secretary of State to appoint at least three members with experience and capacity in dealing with problems associated with atomic energy, one member with experience and capacity in administration and finance, and one member with experience and capacity in the organisation of workers.

The members of the authority and their relevant qualifications are as follows:


Mr. J. G. Collier—Expertise in nuclear science.

Full-time Members

  • Dr. B. L. Eyre—Expertise in nuclear science.
  • Dr. G. G. E. Low—Expertise in nuclear science.
  • Mr. R. N. Simeone, CBE — Expertise in Finance and Administration

Part-time Members

  • Mr. J. Bullock—Accounting expertise.
  • Professor Sir Peter Hirsch, FRS—Expertise in nuclear science.
  • Mr. M. J. B. Parker—Industrial expertise.
  • Mr. R. E. J. Roberts, CBE—Industrial expertise.
  • Mr. R. Sanderson, OBE—Expertise in organisation of workers. (National Officer of the EETPU).

There are no Trades Union Congress-nominated places.

Back to