HC Deb 16 November 1987 vol 122 c453W
Mr. Rogers

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence which NATO nations have signed the NATO memorandum of understanding on an identification friend or foe system.

Mr. Sainsbury

Ten nations (Belgium, Canada, Denmark. France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States) have signed an MOU providing for the exchange of information, and the identification of opportunities for co-operation, on a new NATO identification system; Greece has applied to subscribe to this MOU also.

A second MOU is aimed specifically at promoting co-operation in the development and production of such a system. This has been signed by Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom and the United States, and we hope that France will also sign shortly.

Forward to