HC Deb 26 June 1987 vol 118 cc4-5W
Mr. Patrick Thompson

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science if he will make a statement about appointments to the governing body of the Centre for Information on Language Teaching and Research.

Mr. Kenneth Baker

I announced last December the appointment of Sir Hugh Campbell Byatt as chairman of the reconstituted governing body of the Centre for Information on Language Teaching and Research. I have now appointed nine other governors :

  • Mr. M. Austin—Head of modern language department, Lord Grey school, Buckinghamshire;
  • Mr. A. H. R. Calderwood — County Education Officer, Cleveland county council;
  • Mrs. F. Gilmore — Managing director, Michael Peters and Partners;
  • 5
  • Mr. A. Harding — Dean of modern studies, Oxford polytechnic;
  • Professor L. Hickey — Professor of Spanish, Salford university;
  • Mr. R. T. Pullin — Department of education, Sheffield university;
  • Mr. R. Taylor — Director of IC (Language and Communication Services) Ltd.;
  • Mr. M. Whalley — Modern language adviser, Essex county council;
  • Mr. N. L. M. Wolfers—Group adviser (Asia and Pacific), Midland Bank Group.

My right hon. Friend the Secretary of State for Scotland, has appointed as his nominee Mr. M. J. Prowse, general adviser on secondary education for Dumfries and Galloway region education authority and chairman of the consultative committee on the curriculum's central support group on modern languages.

I believe that a smaller governing body reconstituted in this way will be the best fitted to guide the development of the centre so that it focuses more closely on the needs of schools and the promotion of our policy on the study of foreign languages. The current scheme of government for the centre provides, however, for a fixed complement of 16 governors, and can be amended only on the recommendation of the governing body. So, to enable the scheme to be varied to permit greater flexibility in the numbers, I am appointing five officials from my Department to the remaining governorships. They will cease membership as soon as the scheme of government is changed.