HC Deb 24 July 1987 vol 120 cc542-3W
Sir Trevor Skeet

asked the Prime Minister if she will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The Prime Minister

The parliamentary assembly of the Council of Europe will be meeting in Strasbourg from 1 to 8 October. The delegation from the United Kingdom this year will consist of 12 members of the Conservative party, five members of the Labour party and one member of the Liberal party. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.

The appointments of representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the leaders of those parties concerned.

The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the Assembly of the Western European Union.

Representatives from the Government Benches will be:

The hon. Member for Hampstead and Highgate (Sir G. Finsberg, who will act as leader.

The hon. Members for:

  • Warwick and Leamington (Sir D. Smith)
  • Southampton, Test (Mr. Hill) (Government Whip)
  • Birmingham, Edgbaston (Dame J. Knight)
  • 543
  • Twickenham (Mr. Jessel)
  • Northampton, South (Mr. Morris)
  • Halesowen and Stourbridge (Mr. Stokes)
  • Ruislip-Northwood (Mr. Wilkinson)
  • Ashford (Mr. Speed)
  • Streatham (Mr. Shelton)
  • Medway (Dame P. Fenner) and the Earl of Kinnoull.

Representatives from the Labour party will be:

The hon. Members for:

  • Neath (Mr. Coleman)
  • Wallsend (Mr.Garrett)
  • Wentworth (Mr. Hardy)
  • Lord Hughes and Dr. Maurice Miller.

Representatives from the Liberal party will be:

The hon. Member for Inverness, Nairn and Lochaber (Sir Russell Johnston).

The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates:

From the Government Benches:

The hon. Members for:

Bournemouth, East (Mr. Atkinson), Eastwood (Mr. Stewart), Norfolk, North (Mr. Howell), Thanet, North (Mr. Gale), Lewes (Mr. Rathbone), Brighton, Kemptown (Mr. Bowden), Suffolk, Central (Mr. Lord), Lord Newall and Lord Rodney.

From the Labour party:

The right hon.Member for Glasgow, Govan (Mr. Milian), the hon. Members for Tooting (Mr. Cox) and Liverpool, Riverside (Mr. Parry), the right hon. Reginald Freeson, Mr. Robert Brown, Mr. Robert Edwards, Mr. Michael McGuire and Mr. Alex Woodhall.

From the Liberal party:

The Lord Mackie.

Forward to