HC Deb 22 July 1987 vol 120 c188W
Mr. Curry

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science who will be the members of the interim advisory committee on school teachers' pay and conditions.

Mr. Kenneth Baker

The membership of the Interim Advisory Committee on School Teachers' Pay and Conditions is as follows:


Lord Chilver FRS:—

  • Vice-Chancellor of Cranfield Institute of Technology.


Dr. Peter Andrews CBE:—

  • GCSE Co-ordinator for Derbyshire, former head of a comprehensive school in Derbyshire.

Mr. Geoffrey Armstrong:—

  • Director of Metal Box PLC.

Mr. Ray Carter:—

  • Director of Marathon Oil (UK) Ltd., and Former Labour Member of Parliament for Birmingham, Northfield.

Mrs. Judith Chaplin:—

  • Head of policy unit, Institute of Directors and former Chairman of Norfolk County Council Education Committee.

Mr. Ken Graham CBE:—

  • Recently retired Deputy General Secretary of the Trades Union Congress.

Dr. Anne Hogg:—

  • Consultant and member of the Doctors and Dentists Review Body.

Mrs. Rosemary White:—

  • Just retiring as head of a primary school in Cardiff.

The committee's first main task will be to advise on the April 1988 pay settlement for school teachers in England and Wales in accordance with the Teachers' Pay and Conditions Act 1987.