HC Deb 26 November 1986 vol 106 cc279-80W
Mr. David Marshall

asked the Secretary of State for Transport if he will list all those trunk schemes for which a public inquiry ended before 1 January but upon which his decision is still outstanding.

Mr. Peter Bottomley

Decisions remain outstanding on the following trunk road schemes for which public inquiries ended before 1 January 1986:

  • M3 Bar End—Bassett;
  • A3 Liphook and Petersfield Bypasses;
  • A11 Thetford Bypass;
  • A23 Warninglid—Brighton;
  • A43 Kettering Northern Bypass (Note 1)
  • A406 Popes Lane—Western Avenue;
  • A423 Maidenhead Thicket—Burchetts Green;
  • A604 M1—A1 Link
  • (Note 1—This scheme was taken to public inquiry with A604 M1—A1 link).

Mr. David Marshall

asked the Secretary of State for Transport if he will list the schemes included in "National Roads England 1985" for starts in the programme to March 1987 which have not yet started; and if he will give his latest estimate of their starting dates.

Mr. Peter Bottomley

Of the 91 schemes listed in "National Roads England" for starts up to March 1987, 47 have been started and 13 are expected to start in or before that month. The information requested for schemes not yet started is as followsi. Schemes expected to start before March 1987

  • M5 Warndon—Rashwood.
  • A17 New Washway road.
  • A27 Fontwell bypass.
  • A30 Blackwater improvement.
  • A35 Bridport link road.
  • A35 Dorchester bypass.
  • A36 Warminster bypass.
  • A47 Wardley hill improvement.
  • A303 South Petherton—broadway.
  • A361 North Devon link stage 2A Tiverton-Newtown.
  • A419 Blunsdon—Cricklade dualling.
  • A483 Chester southern bypass—Welsh border.
  • A650 Airedale route (Victoria park—Crossflatts).
ii. Schemes expected to start after March 1987 a. 1987–88
  • M3 Compton—Bassett widening.
  • M63 Stretford—Eccles improvement stage 4.
  • A3 Compton—Shackleford improvement.
  • A10 Melbourn bypass.
  • A17 Fosdyke bridge improvement.
  • A34 Hanford grade separated junction.
  • A34 Whitway diversion.
  • A39 Barnstaple bypass.
  • 280
  • A42 Measham—Ashby bypass.
  • A43 Peartree hill—Wendlebury improvement.
  • A46 Coventry eastern bypass.
  • A46 Newark relief road.
  • A47 Eye bypass.
  • A47 Guyhirn diversion.
  • A49 Leominster bypass.
  • A69 Newcastle western bypass.
  • A69 Horsley—Corbridge improvement.
  • A361 North Devon link stage 2B Newtown-Barnstaple.
  • A406 Great Cambridge road grade separated junction.
  • A417 Birdlip bypass.
  • A435 Alcester bypasses.
  • A696 Woolsington and Kenton bank foot bypass.
b. 1988–89
  • M3 Bar end—Compton.
  • A5 Telford—Shrewsbury.
  • A36 Steeple Langford bypass.
  • A43 Kettering northern bypass.
  • A46 Bath (Upper Swainswick—A420).
  • A66 Bowes bypass—County boundary improvement.
c. 1989–90
  • A11 Thetford bypass.
  • A523 Macclesfield inner relief road.
d. 1990–91
  • A423 Southam bypass.

Delays to those schemes held up have been caused by problems with procedures, dealings with affected parties, technical factors or a combination of these.