HC Deb 16 June 1986 vol 99 cc380-1W

Sir Peter Baxendell CBE

Professor J. A. Cannon CBE

Sir Robert Clayton CBE

Dr. S. Cotson

Professor C. T. Dollery

Professor K. Entwistle

Professor P. Haggett

Professor M. B. Harris

Mr. R. S. Johnson CBE

Professor D. S. Jones MBE FRS

Professor P. R. G. Layard

Professor J. G. Morris

Professor R. Needham FRS

Mr. W. D. C. Semple

Professor J. Sizer

Mrs. T. Thomas OBE

Lord James Douglas-Hamilton

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science what steps he takes when appointing the University Grants Committee to seek to ensure that its membership is representative of all British universities.

Mr. Walden

There are currently 11 university members of the University Grants Committee, which advises on grants to 54 universities and colleges. Members of the committee are chosen by my right hon. Friend after consultation with the Secretaries of State for Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland and having regard in particular to the need for the committee to be able to cover the main broad university subject areas. They are not appointed in a representative capacity, but because of the personal contribution they can make to the work of the committee.

Back to