HC Deb 24 February 1986 vol 92 cc415-6W
Mrs. Virginia Bottomley

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department whether the Boundary Commissions for England and Wales intend to conduct any interim reviews of parliamentary constituencies; and if he will make a statement.

Mr. Hurd

The commissions have informed me that they intend to conduct interim reviews of 63 parliamentary constituencies under the powers provided in section 2(3) of the House of Commons (Redistribution of Seats) Act 1949. The counties and constituencies concerned are as follows:

England—Counties and Constituencies
Bedfordshire South West Bedfordshire CC
Luton South BC
Mid Bedfordshire CC Berkshire
North Luton CC Reading West CC
Wokingham CC North Durhan CC
Sedgefield CC
Gainsborough and Horncastle Hertfordshire
CC Hertford and Stortford CC
Grantham CC South West Hertfordshire CC
Stevenage CC
Oxfordshire Welwyn Hatfield CC
Banbury CC West Hertfordshire CC
Oxford West and Abingdon
CC Surrey
Wantage CC Esher BC
Witney CC Guildford CC
Mole Valley CC
Cheshire North West Surrey CC
Halton CC South West Surrey CC
Warrington South BC Woking CC
Cleveland West Sussex
Stockton North BC Arundel CC
Chichester CC
Cumbria Crawley BC
Barrow and Furness CC Horsham CC
Westmorland and Lonsdale Mid Sussex CC
CC Shoreham CC
Worthing BC
Bishop Auckland CC Wiltshire
City of Durham CC Salisbury CC
Easington CC Westbury CC
Wales—Counties and Constituencies
Dyfed Caerphilly CC
Carmarthen CC Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney
Ceredigian and Pembroke CC
North CC Ogmore CC
Llanelli CC Pontypridd CC
Pembroke CC Rhondda CC
Gwent Powys
Blaenau Gwent CC Brecon and Radnor CC
Monmouth CC
Newport East CC West Glamorgan
Newport West CC Aberavon CC
Torfaen CC Gower CC
Neath CC
Mid Glamorgan Swansea East BC
Bridgend CC Swansea West BC