HL Deb 13 February 1986 vol 471 cc399-400WA
Lord Strabolgi

asked Her Majesty's Government:

If they are in a position to announce the creation and composition of the new national Trustee Body for Merseyside to be established under Section 46 of the Local Government Act 1985.

The Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food (Lord Belstead)

Yesterday Her Majesty in Council was pleased to approve the order to establish the Board of Trustees for the National Museums and Galleries on Merseyside. The order has today been laid before both Houses of Parliament and will come into effect on 20th February. My right honourable friend the Minister for the Arts has appointed to date 13 trustees, with Sir Leslie Young, CBE, DL as chairman. The other trustees are the Duke of Westminster; Mr. Nicholas Barber; Professor Robert Berry; Professor Anthony Bradshaw; Mr. George Holt: Professor Michael Kauffman; Councillor John Last; Mr. Brian Redhead; Councillor Benjamin Shaw; Mr. Garry Thomson; Lady Marina Vaizey and Sir David Wilson. Further appointments will be made in due course.