HC Deb 09 April 1986 vol 95 c123W
Mr. Dykes

asked the Secretary of State for Social Services if he will announce details of the appointment and reappointment of chairmen of special health authorities from 1 April.

Mr. Whitney

The term of office of six of the chairmen of the Special Health Authorities expired on 31 March 1986. Five have been reappointed and there is one new appointment, Mr. Tom Oakman, as chairman of the National Hospitals for Nervous Diseases. The details are as follows:

Special Health Authority Chairman Term of appointment (years)
The Hospitals for Sick Children Mrs. Caroline Bond SRN SS St. J 2
National Hospitals for Nervous Diseases Mr. Tom Oakman OBE 4
Moorfields Eye Hospital Mr. Francis Cumberlege CBE 2
The Bethlem Royal Hospital and Maudsley Hospital Dr. Ivan Clout CBE 2
The National Heart and Chest Hospitals Mr. Tom Meyer 4
Hammersmith and Queen Charlotte's Mr. Christopher Bland 4