HC Deb 29 October 1985 vol 84 cc388-9W
Mr. Austin Mitchell

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will list the members of the Radioactive Waste Management Advisory Committee and their qualifications and indicate how often it meets.

Mrs. Rumbold

The Radioactive Waste Management Advisory Committee holds one-day meetings five times a year and normally undertakes one visit a year to installations of interest. Current members and their qualifications are as follows:


  • Professor Paul T. Matthews, CBE, MA, PhD, FRS

Independent members:

  • Lady Anglesey, DBE, LLD
  • Professor Roger J. Berry, D.Phil, MD, FRCP,FRCR, Professor of Oncology, Middlesex Hospital Medical School
  • Wilfred Cassidy, BSc, MChem, A CChem, FRSC, AMCT, Scientific adviser, Public Analyst and Official Agriculture Analyst, Somerset County Council
  • Professor George M. Dunnet, DSc, PhD — Regis Professor of Natural History, University of Aberdeen
  • Sir Leslie Fowden, PhD, FRS—Director of Rothamsted Experimental Station
  • Professor John R. Greening, PhD, DSc, FInstP, FRSE— Professor of Medical Physics, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr. Michael H. Martin, BSc, PhD—Senior Lecturer in Botany, University of Bristol
  • Professor Geoffrey Rose, DM, DSc, FRCP, FFCM—Professor of Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • Professor David R. Williams, BSc, PhD, DSc, CChem, FRSC, FRSA, Professor of Applied Chemistry, University of Wales Institute of Science and Technology

The nuclear and electricity industries:

  • Dr. R. H. Flowers, BSc, PhD—Direct of Fuel Processing UKAEA; Member of NIREX Directorate
  • Roy R. Matthews, MA, CEng, FIMechE, FIFE, FIChemE — Director of Health and Safety, Central Electricity Board; Member of NIREX Directorate
  • Derek R. Smith, MA, FEng, FIMechE, MIEE—Director of Engineering National Nuclear Corporation Ltd.
  • Dr. William L. Wilkinson, MA, PhD, ScD(Cantab), 389 FIChemE, FEng — Technical Director, British Nuclear Fuels plc; Member of NIREX Directorate

Trade Unions

  • Dr. Jack Abernethy, BSc, PhD—Member of the Institute of Professional Civil Servants, British Nuclear Fuels plc
  • Peter N. Adams, MBE — National Officer, Electrical Electronic Telecommunications and Plumbing Union
  • Richard B. Pepper, BSc, MInstP — Member of the Electrical Power Engineers Association and Principal Health Physicist, Central Electricity Generating Board
  • David O. Williams—General Secretary, Confederation of Health Service Employees