HC Deb 27 November 1985 vol 87 cc576-9W
Mr. McNamara

asked the Secretary of State for Defence (1) if he will list the location by parliamentary constituency of (a) all United States non-nuclear bases in the United Kingdom and (b) all United Kingdom non-nuclear bases in the United Kingdom;

(2) if he will list the location by parliamentary constituency of (a) all Royal Air Force facilities in the United Kingdom and (b) all United States bases and facilities in the United Kingdom;

(3) if he will list the location by parliamentary constituency of (a) all royal ordnance factories, (b) all royal dockyards and (c) all Ministry of Defence facilities, itemising them also;

(4) if he will list the location by parliamentary constituency of (a) all Army barracks and (b) all Royal Navy bases in the United Kingdom.

Mr. Norman Lamont

[pursuant to his reply, 19 November 1985, c. 199]: The following bases and facilities have been made available for use by United States forces in the United Kingdom. It is a longstanding convention of this and previous Governments not to confirm or deny the presence of nuclear weapons at any location; accordingly, the role of bases and facilities are not specified in this respect.

Main Operating Base
RAF Alconbury Huntingdon
RAF Bentwaters Suffolk, Coastal
RAF Fairford Cirencester and Tewkesbury
RAF Lakenheath Bury St. Edmunds
RAF Mildenhall Bury St. Edmunds
RAF Upper Heyford Banbury
RAF Woodbridge Suffolk, Coastal
Holy Loch Argyll and Bute
Standby Deployment Bases
RAF Greenham Common(1) Newbury
RAF Scunthorpe Norfolk, North
RAF Wethersfield Braintree
Storage/Support Facilities
RAF Bicester Banbury
Bramley Basingstoke
RAF Brawdy Pembroke
Broughton Moor Workington
RAF Burtonwood Warrington, North
RAF Caerwent Monmouth
RAF Chelveston Bedfordshire, North
RAF Chilwell Broxtowe
Eastcote Ruislip-Northwood
Felixstowe Suffolk, Coastal
RAF Feltwell Norfolk, South-West
Framlingham Suffolk, Coastal
Glen Douglas Dumbarton
High Wycombe Air Station (Daws Hill) Wycombe
RAF Hullavington Wiltshire, North
RAF Hythe Romsey and Waterside
RAF Kemble Cirencester and Tewkesbury
London USN Europe HQ City of London and Westminster, South
RAF Machrihanish Argyll and Bute
Marchwood Romsey and Waterside
RAF Molesworth(2) Huntingdon
Oakington Cambridgeshire, South-East
Ridgewell Saffron Walden
RAF Ruislip Ruislip-Northwood
RAF Spadeadam Penrith and The Border
RAF St. Mawgan Cornwall, North
RAF Upwood Huntingdon
RAF Welford Newbury
RAF Walton Norfolk, South-West

Contingency Wartime Hospitals
RAF Chessington(3) Surbiton
RAF Little Rissington Cirencester and Tewkesbury
RAF Nocton Hall Grantham
Communications Facilities
Aberdeen Kincardine and Deeside
RAF Barford St. John Banbury
RAF Barkway Hertfordshire, North
Botley Hill Surrey, East
Bovingdon Hertfordshire, South-West
RAF Chicksands Mid-Bedfordshire
Coldblow Mid-Kent
Christmas Common Henley
RAF Croughton Daventry
Daventry Daventry
Dunkirk Canterbury
RAF Edzell Kincardine and Deeside
RAF Fylingdales Ryedale
Great Bromley Colchester, North
RAF Inverbervie Kincardine and Deeside
RAF Kinnabeer Angus, East
Latheron Caithness and Sutherland
Martlesham Suffolk, Coastal
Menwith Hill Skipton and Ripon
Mormond Hill Banff and Buchan
Fort Murkle Caithness and Sutherland
RAF Uxbridge Uxbridge


(1) Also base for ground-launched cruise missiles.

(2) Planned GLCM base as well as storage and property disposal facility used by the United States Department of Defence.

(3) RAF Chessington has recently been made available for use by the United States army as a peacetime storage facility and as a war time hospital.

Records of the locations of bases and facilities used by the Ministry of Defence and the armed services bases and facilities are not maintained in the form requested, and I regret that this information could be obtained only at disproportionate cost.

Royal ordnance factories are located in the following constituencies:

Royal ordnance factory, Burghfield Newbury
Royal ordnance factory, Cardiff Cardiff North

The following factories and facilities were transferred to Royal Ordnance plc on 2 January 1985. I am advised that they are located in the following constituencies:

Birtley Blaydon
Bishopton Renfrew, West and Inverclyde
Blackburn Rossendale and Darwen
Bridgwater Bridgwater
Chorley Chorley
Enfield Enfield, North
Featherstone Staffordshire, South
Glascoed Monmouth
Leeds Leeds, East
Nottingham Nottingham, South
Patricroft Eccles
Powfoot Dumfries
Radway Green Congleton
Summerfield Wyre Forest
Waltham Abbey Epping Forest
Westcott Buckingham

The royal dockyards are situated in the following constituencies:

Rosyth Dunfermline, East
Devonport Plymouth, Devonport

Forward to