HC Deb 22 January 1985 vol 71 cc388-9W
Dr. Godman

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland if he will list in the Official Report the number of local review committees, their location at penal institutions, the composition and size of their membership and the criteria by which members of the public are selected for membership.

Mr. Ancram

The location and composition of the 12 local review committees is as follows:

Location The Governor Social workers Independent members*
Aberdeen 1 3 3
Castle Huntly (same membership as Noranside) 1 3 3
Cornton Vale 1 3 3
Dumfries 1 3 3
Dungavel (covering also Barlinnie Special Unit cases) 1 3 3
Edinburgh 1 5 5
Glenochil 1 3 5
Noranside (same membership as Castle Huntly) 1 3 3
Penninghame 1 3 3
Perth 1 3 4
Peterhead (covering also Inverness Prison cases) 1 3 3
Shotts (covering also Barlinnie Prison cases) 1 3 3
* Persons who do not fall into either of the other categories and are not prison officers.

Independent members are selected for membership of local review committees on their individual merits, but with particular regard to their interests in social or penal affairs and their ability to contribute effectively to the preparatory work and meetings of local review committees.