HC Deb 07 February 1985 vol 72 cc651-3W
Mr. John David Taylor

asked the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland if he will list the recreation or sports centres operated by each of the 26 district councils.

Mr. Scott

The information is as follows:


Antrim Antrim Forum Leisure Centre

Ards Donaghadee Recreation/Community Centre and Kiltonga Sports Complex

Armagh Keady (Cowfair) Recreation/Community Centre

Ballymena Trostan Avenue Leisure Centre

Ballymoney Riada Leisure Centre

Banbridge Downshire Road Recreation/Community Centre

Belfast Anderson town Leisure Centre; Avoniel Leisure Centre; Ballymacarrett Recreation Centre (Tamar Street); Ballysillan Leisure Centre; Beechmount Leisure Centre; Grosvenor Recreation Centre; Loughside Recreation Centre; Maysfield Leisure Centre; Olympia Leisure Centre; Ormeau Park Recreation Centre; Shaftesbury Recreation Centre; Shankill Leisure Centre; Stadium Recreation Centre and Whiterock Leisure Centre

Carrickfergus Carrickfergus Leisure Centre (Kennedy Drive)

Coleraine Coleraine Leisure Centre

Craigavon Brownlow Recreation Centre

Derry Brandywell Stadium; Brooke Park Activity Centre; Lisnagelvin Leisure Centre; Templemore Sports Complex

Down Downpatrick Leisure Centre (Dunleath Park)

Fermanagh Lakeland Forum Leisure Centre (Enniskillen) and Bawnacre Recreation Centre (Irvinestown)

Limavady Dungiven Recreation/Community Centre and Greystone Road Recreation/Community Centre (Roe Valley)

Lisburn Brook (Twinbrook) Activity Centre; Glenmore Activity Centre; Grove (Knockmore) Activity Centre and Kilmakee (Seymour Hill) Activity Centre

Magherafelt Greenvale Leisure Centre (Magherafelt) and Maghera Recreation/Community Centre

Moyle Sheskburn House Recreation Centre

Newry and Mourne Newry Sports Centre (Patrick Street)

Newtownabbey Ballyearl Sports Complex and Valley Leisure Centre

North Down Bangor Leisure Centre

Omagh Omagh Leisure Centre

Strabane Riversdale Leisure Centre

Work on major recreation or sports centres is due to commence in the near future at Castlereagh and Cookstown. Both Dungannon and Larne are planning the provision of such facilities.