HC Deb 16 April 1985 vol 77 cc128-9W
Mrs. Virginia Bottomley

asked the Prime Minister if she will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The Prime Minister

I have appointed 18 delegates from the Parliament of the United Kingdom. The delegation this year will consist of 12 members of the Conservative party, five members of the Labour party and one member of the Liberal party. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.

The appointments of representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the leaders of those parties concerned.

The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the Assembly of Western European Union.

Representatives from the Government Benches will be: The right hon. Member for Torbay (Sir Frederic Bennett); who will act as leader. The hon. Members for

  • Hampstead and Highgate (Sir Geoffrey Finsberg)
  • Cambridge, South-West (Sir Anthony Grant)
  • Norfolk, South-West (Sir Paul Hawkins)
  • Southampton, Test (Mr. Hill)
  • Twickenham (Mr. Jessel)
  • Edgbaston (Mrs. Knight)
  • 129
  • Hallam (Sir John Osborn)
  • Harrow, West (Sir John Page)
  • Warwick and Leamington (Sir Dudley Smith)
  • Ruislip-Northwood (Mr. Wilkinson)
  • and the Lord Reay

Representatives from the Labour party will be: The hon. Members for

  • Tooting (Mr. Cox)
  • Wentworth (Mr Hardy)
  • Makerfield (Mr. McGuire)
  • East Kilbride (Dr. Miller)
  • and the Lord Hughes

The representative from the Liberal party will be: The hon. Member for Inverness, Nairn and Lochaber (Mr. Johnston)

The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates:

From the Government Benches: The hon. Members for

  • Bournemouth, East (Mr. Atkinson)
  • Cunninghame, North (Mr. Corrie)
  • Epping Forest (Sir John Biggs-Davison)
  • Northampton, South (Mr. Morris)
  • Welwyn-Hatfield (Mr. Murphy)
  • Halesowen and Stourbridge (Mr. Stokes)
  • Poole (Mr. Ward)
  • and the Earl of Kinnoull
  • and the Lord Newall

From the Labour party: The right hon. Members for

  • Brent, East (Mr. Freeson)
  • Glasgow, Govan (Mr. Millan)
  • The hon. Members for
  • Newcastle upon Tyne, North (Mr. Brown)
  • Neath (Mr. Coleman)
  • Wolverhampton, South-East (Mr. Edwards)
  • Wallsend (Mr. Garrett)
  • Riverside (Mr. Parry)
  • Hemsworth (Mr. Woodall)

From the Liberal party: The hon. Member for

  • Isle of Wight (Mr. Ross)