HC Deb 31 October 1984 vol 65 cc1059-61W
Mr. Foulkes

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland if he will list all members of the Scottish Consumer Council, and when they were appointed; and if he will place in the Library short biographies of each member.

Mr. Fletcher

I have been asked to reply.

Scottish Consumer Councils Members: Dates of appointment

  • Mrs. Walker, member since 1 February 1980, Chairman since 1 December 1980.
  • Mrs. Grieve, member since 18 October 1983.
  • Mr. Hope, member since 1 February 1980.
  • Mrs. Kelly, member since 17 October 1980.
  • Mr. Laing, member since 1 April 1983.
  • Dr. McBryde, member since 1 October 1984.
  • Mr. McCallum, member since 18 October 1983.
  • Mrs. McKelvie, member since 11 September 1978.
  • Rev. McManus, member since 18 October 1983.
  • Mrs. Millar, member since 1 February 1980.
  • Mrs. Robertson, member since 17 October 1980.
  • Mrs. Sandeman, member since 18 September 1981.
  • Mr. Short, member since 1 October 1982.
  • Dr. Williamson, member since 18 September 1981.

The biographies are as follows:

  • Scottish Consumer Council: Members' biographical details

Mrs. Esme Walker W.S. Chairman, Scottish Consumer Council (since December 1980).

  • Vice Chairman, National Consumer Council (since February 1984).
  • Voluntary worker at Edinburgh Central Citizens Advice Bureau.
  • Formerly a solicitor, and lecturer in legal studies.
  • Founder member of the Edinburgh Consumer Group.
  • Former member, Legal Services Group, Scottish Association of Citizens Advice Bureaux (1976–79).
  • Former Vice Chairman, Edinburgh Council of Social Service.
  • Member, Secretary of State for Scotland's expert Committee considering multiple surveys and valuations (since 1982).
  • Member, Lord Dunpark's working party on procedure for judicial review of administrative action (1983).

Mrs. Esme Grieve Member since 1983.

  • Wife of estate agent and farmer.
  • Past Chairman, West of Scotland Area, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Association.
  • Former Assistant Director, Youth and Junior Red Cross.
  • Former District Commissioner, Girl Guides.
  • Former Lay representative of Episcopal Church.
  • Member, Rural Forum.

Mr. Colin Hope Member since 1980.

  • Consultant, G. T. Senior & Co. Ltd. (insurance brokers).
  • Member, Transport Users Consultative Committee for Scotland.
  • Member, South of Scotland Electricity Consultative Council (and Glasgow & Clyde local area committee).
  • Member, British Airways Local Consumer Committee. Director, Glasgow Chamber of Commerce (and Convenor of its transport committee).
  • Vice Chairman, Glasgow and West of Scotland Council.
  • Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators.
  • Member, Strathclyde Valuation Appeal Committee.
  • Director, Glasgow Merchants House.
  • Council member, Insurance Ombudsman Bureau.

Mrs. Barbara Kelly Member since 1980.

  • Partner in dairy farm.
  • Member Rural Forum.
  • Involved in Scottish Womens Rural Institutes for 20 years (local Chairman; member, central council).
  • Chairman, Regional Advisory Panel, Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme.
  • Convenor, local parish Red Cross branch; member, Dumfries County Executive, Red Cross.
  • Member, United Kingdom advisory panel, Department of Education.

Mr. Ronald Laing Member since 1983.

  • Managing Director, Rutland Exchange Ltd. (operates mail exchanges in Scotland).
  • Formerly a solicitor (until recently senior partner in legal practice).
  • Member, Legal Aid Central Committee.
  • Member, Law Society of Scotland (1973–81).
  • 1061
  • Member, Evidence Committee, Royal Commission on Legal Services in Scotland.
  • Member, Legal Services Group, SACAB.

Dr. William McBryde Member since 1984.

  • Senior lecturer in private law, Aberdeen University.
  • Member, Working Party of Scottish Law Commission on Contract (since 1976).
  • Specialist Parliamentary Adviser, House of Lords Select Committee on European Communities (since 1980).

Mr. Archie McCallum Member since 1983.

  • Retired civil servant.
  • Member, Community Council for Campbeltown.
  • Chairman, Campbeltown & District Old Peoples Week Committee.
  • Chairman, Salvation Army Advisory Committee.
  • Former provost of Campbeltown, Former Justice of the Peace.
  • Secretary, Kintyre Amateur Football Association; Campbeltown Highland Games.

Mrs. Mary McKelvie Member since 1978.

  • Presented Action Group petition to Church of Scotland General Assembly (1969).
  • Member, Scottish Committee, IBA (1971–76)
  • Former Area Playgroup organiser and tutor on playgroups course.
  • Member, Arbroath High School Council.
  • Involved in WRVS, meals on wheels, old peoples homes.

Father Matthew McManus Member since 1983.

  • Parish priest, Kirkcudbright and Gatehouse-of-Fleet.
  • President, Association of Scottish Local Health Councils.
  • Vice Chairman, Dumfries and Galloway Local Health Council.
  • Chairman, Castle Douglas CAB.
  • Vice Chairman, Stewartry School Council.

Mrs. Helen Millar Member since 1980.

  • Tutor organiser, Children's Panel Training; lecturer, Glasgow University Extra Mural Department.
  • Former Chairman, Scottish Milk Marketing Board Consultative Committee.
  • Chairman, Scottish Consumers Committee.

Mrs. Maeve Robertson Member since 1980.

  • Freelance journalist and broadcaster on consumer affairs.
  • Set up and managed Consumer Advice Centre within Edinburgh CAB (1972–75).

Mrs. Sylvia Sandeman Member since 1981.

  • Former member, Post Office Users Council for Scotland.
  • Member, Scottish Sports Council.
  • "Disabled Scot of the Year" 1981.
  • Executive member, Scottish Council on Disability.

Mr. James Short Member since 1982.

  • Director, Consumer Protection, Lothian Regional Council.
  • Former Chairman, Institute of Trading Standards Administration.
  • Adviser to Convention of Scottish Local Authorities.
  • Member, Society of Scottish Directors of Consumer Protection.

Dr. Douglas Williamson Member since 1981.

  • Senior lecturer, and Assistant Dean of Science, Aberdeen University.
  • Committee member (former Secretary), Aberdeen Consumer Group.

Forward to