HC Deb 16 January 1984 vol 52 cc61-2W
Mr. Tony Banks

asked the Secretary of State for Transport why he dismissed Mr. Alan Greengross from membership of the Port of London Authority.

Mr. David Mitchell

Mr. Greengross was one of three members of the Port of London Authority whose normal term of office ended on 31 December 1983. The others were Mr. D. W. Frame and Mr. S. Staden. There was no question of dismissal. My right hon. Friend decided that in view of the authority's current difficulties it was desirable to strengthen the business and financial experience of the authority and to reduce the extent to which it reflects local interests. He has therefore appointed for three years as from 1 January 1984 three new members who will bring valuable experience to bear. They are Mr. Ian Halliday, Finance Director of the Lowndes Lambert Group Ltd; Mr. Michael Lawrence, a partner in Price, Waterhouse; and Mr. Robert: Perkins, Managing Director of Ransomes & Rapier Ltd.

We are very grateful to the three members whose term of appointment has expired for the care and commitment they have contributed to the port over the past few years. The fact that they have not been reappointed in no way reflects on them individually.