HC Deb 14 February 1984 vol 54 cc147-8W
Mr. McNamara

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science, following his reply to the hon. Member for Kingston upon Hull, North of 7 February, Official Report, c. 553, if he will list those nine university institutions not proposing any increase in planned student intakes in 1984 and 1985 and the reasons they gave him for the decision.

Mr. Brooke

The nine institutions that have indicated that they are not able to accept additional students within existing resources are the universities of Aston, Bradford, Exeter, Hull, Leeds, Southampton; St. David's college, Lampeter; the Welsh national school of medicine; and the University of Wales institute of science and technology. Universities were not asked to give detailed reasons for their decisions.