HC Deb 14 February 1984 vol 54 cc157-8W
Mr. Maples

asked the Secretary of State for Social Services who are the members of the committee appointed by him to inquire into provision for retirement; and what are their credentials.

Dr. Boyson

My right hon. Friend the Secretary of State chairs both the inquiry into provision for retirement and its sub-group on portable pensions. Members of the inquiry are my hon. Friends the Minister of State, Treasury, the Minister of State, Department of Employment and the Under-Secretary of State for Trade and Industry and myself; Professor Alan Peacock, vice-chancellor of the University of Buckingham, Mr. Stewart Lyon, president of the Institute of Actuaries, and Mr. Marshall Field, chairman of the Occupational Pension Schemes Joint Working Group; and the Government Actuary. The members of the sub-group on portable pensions are my hon. Friend the Minister of State, Treasury, Professor Peacock, Mr. Field and Mr. Mark Weinberg, deputy chairman and managing director of Hambro Life.