HL Deb 25 October 1983 vol 444 cc242-4WA
Baroness Vickers

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Whether they are yet able to make a statement on whether ships and units which took part in the Falklands campaign will be able to include the campaign in their battle honours.

The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Armed Forces (Lord Trefgarne)

Her Majesty The Queen has graciously approved the award of battle honours to ships and units of the three services and the Merchant Navy which took part in the campaign to liberate the Falkland Islands.

The award of the battle honour "Falkland Islands 1982" is to he made to all HM ships, submarines and Fleet Air Arm squadrons which had passed or were below 35° South and were north of 60° South in the South Atlantic between 2nd April and 14th June 1982. Royal Fleet Auxiliaries and Royal Maritime Auxiliary Service vessels will similarly qualify, as will ships taken up from trade in support of the operation. The ships and naval air squadrons which qualify are set out below.

In accordance with a long-standing tradition which dates back more than 150 years, the Royal Marines do not receive battle honours for any individual operation or campaign in which they have been engaged. Instead the corps motif of the globe surrounded by laurel is the symbol of their outstanding service throughout the world.

The Theatre Honour "Falkland Islands 1982" together with honours for the engagements at Goose Green, Mount Longdon, Tumbledown Mountain and Wireless Ridge have been approved for the Army. Those regiments which took part in the campaign will be entitled to claim these honours in accordance with normal practice in the Army. After these claims have been considered by the Army Board, recommendations will be submitted for Her Majesty the Queen's approval. I am therefore not able today to list the regiments which will be so honoured, but will make a further statement to your Lordships in due course.

The squadrons of the Royal Air Force which saw service between 2nd April and 14th June 1982 south of 35° South and north of 60° South or took part in an operational sortie south of Ascension Island will be awarded the battle honour "South Atlantic 1982". The squadrons concerned are set out below.

HM Ships
HMS Active HMS Fearless
HMS Alacrity HMS Glamorgan
HMS Ambuscade HMS Glasgow
HMS Andromeda HMS Hecla
HMS Antelope HMS Herald
HMS Antrim HMS Hermes
HMS Ardent HMS Hydra
HMS Argonaut HMS Intrepid
HMS Arrow HMS Invincible
HMS Avenger HMS Junella
HMS Brilliant HMS Leeds Castle
HMS Bristol HMS Minerva
HMS Broadsword HMS Northella
HMS Cardiff HMS Onyx
HMS Coventry HMS Penelope
HMS Conqueror HMS Pict
HMS Cordella HMS Plymouth
HMS Courageous HMS Sheffield
HMS Dumbarton Castle HMS Spartan
HMS Endurance HMS Splendid
HMS Exeter HMS Valiant
HMS Farnella HMS Yarmouth

RN Air Squadrons
737 809 824 829 847
800 815 825 845 848
801 820 826 846 899

Royal Fleet Auxiliaries/Royal Maritime Auxiliary Service Vessels
RFA Appleleaf RFA Resource
RFA Bayleaf RFA Sir Bedivere
RFA Blue Rover RFA Sir Galahad
RFA Brambleleaf RFA Sir Geraint
RFA Engadine RFA Sir Lancelot
RFA Fort Austin RFA Sir Percivale
RFA Fort Grange RFA Sir Tristram
RFA Olmeda RFA Stromness
RFA Olna RFA Tidepool
RFA Pearleaf RFA Tidespring
RFA Plumleaf RMAS Typhoon
RFA Regent

Merchant Ships taken up from Trade
MV Anco Charger CS Iris
SS Atlantic Causeway MT Irishman
SS Atlantic Conveyor MV Lycaon
MV Baltic Ferry MV Nordic Ferry
MV British Dart MV Norland
MV British Esk RMS Queen Elizabeth 2
MV British Tay MV Saint Edmund
MV British Test MT Salvageman
MV British Trent MV Saxonia
MV British Wye MV Scottish Eagle
SS Canberra MV Shell Eburna
MV Conveyor Bezant MV Stena Seaspread
MV Elk MV Tor Caledonia
MV Europic Ferry SS Uganda
MV Fort Toronto MV Wimpey Seahorse
MV Geestport MT Yorkshireman

No. 1(F) Squadron Harrier
No. 18 Squadron Chinook
No. 42 Squadron Nimrod
No. 44 Squadron Vulcan
No. 47 Squadron Hercules
No. 50 Squadron Vulcan
No. 51 Squadron Nimrod
No. 55 Squadron Victor
No. 57 Squardon Victor
No. 63 Squadron RAF Regiment Rapier
No. 70 Squadron Hercules
No. 101 Squadron Vulcan
No. 120 Squadron Nimrod
No. 201 Squadron Nimrod
No. 206 Squadron Nimrod