HC Deb 15 November 1983 vol 48 c368W
Ms. Harman

asked the Under-Secretary of State answering in respect of the Arts if he will list all the advisory committees whose members are appointed by the Office of Arts and Libraries; and, in respect of each such committee, how many of the members are women and how many are men.

Mr. Waldegrave

The information is as follows:

Appointments as at 1 July 1983
Name of body Chairman/ Deputy Members
Advisory Committee on the Government Art Collection 1 Chairman (M) 5 (M), 1 (F)
Library and Information Services Council 1 Chairman (M) 20 (M), 3 (F)
Reviewing Committee on the Export of Works of Art 1 Chairman (M) 4 (M), 1 (F)
Science Museum Advisory Council 1 Chairman (M) 16 (M), 0 (F)
Victoria and Albert Museum Advisory Council 1 Chairman (M) 15 (M), 4 (F)
Theatres Trust 1 Chairman (M) 1 Deputy Chairman (M) 10(M), 1 (F)


1. All the above appointments are made by the Minister for the Arts.

2. M denotes male, F female.

3. The Advisory Councils for the Science and Victoria and Albert museums are being discontinued as the new boards of trustees are established under the National Heritage Act 1983.

Back to