HC Deb 07 November 1983 vol 48 cc35-7W
Mr. Peter Bruinvels

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department how many police authorities have applied to him for approval of new police building projects; which ones were approved; in which year they are expected to be completed; and at what cost.

Mr. Mellor

The process by which major police building schemes are put forward for planning, accepted and then fitted into the rolling building programme, is a continuing one. The range of schemes currently in planning with starts in the years 1983–84 to 1985–86,together with those in planning without start dates—broken down to show how many were added in 1982, when police authorities were last invited to put forward proposals for schemes to be accepted for planning—and those rejected in 1982, is as follows. These figures do not include the Metropolitan police area which has a block allocation and manages its own starts programme.

Police authority Scheme
28 forces 34 schemes
Category 2(i)
Avon and Somerset Force Headquarters
Avon and Somerset Bristol Sub Divisional Headquarters
Avon and Somerset Yate Divisional Headquarters
Cumbria Carlisle Divisional Headquarters
Devon and Cornwall Force Headquarters
Greater Manchester Sale Sub Divisional Headquarters
Hertfordshire Royston Section Station
Humberside Force Headquarters
Lincoln Grantham Divisional Headquarters
North Yorkshire Selby Sub Divisional Headquarters
Staffordshire Leek Divisional Headquarters
Surrey Woking Divisional Headquarters
Sussex Haywards Heath Sub Divisional Headquarters
West Midlands Wolverhampton Divisional Headquarters
West Yorkshire Leeds Bridewell
West Yorkshire Ossett Sub Divisional Headquarters
13 forces 16 schemes
Category 2(ii)
Cheshire Wilmslow
Cheshire Chester
Cleveland Thornaby
Derbyshire Spondon
Devon and Cornwall St. Austell
Dorset Force Headquarters
Dyfed Powys Aberystwyth
Essex Colchester
Essex Braintree
Kent Force Headquarters
Lancashire Leyland
Leicestershire Force Headquarters Phase II
Leicestershire Force Headquarters Phase III
Merseyside Mater Avenue

Police authority Scheme
Northumbria Sunderland
Nottinghamshire Arnold
Nottinghamshire West Bridgford
South Wales Bridgend
South Yorkshire West Barr and Attercliffe
Staffordshire Longton
Thames Valley Force Headquarters
Thames Valley Aylesbury
Warwickshire Bedworth
West Mercia Whitchurch
West Midlands Criminal Information System
West Midlands Birmingham—Harborne
West Yorkshire Bradford
West Yorkshire Gipton
21 forces 28 schemes