HC Deb 03 March 1983 vol 38 cc185-6W
Mr. Eldon Griffiths

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department if he will list the Queen's counsel who over the past five years have considered appeals from police officers against punishments imposed on them by their chief officers for discipline offences and the names and occupations of other advisers to the police appeals tribunal; and whether on any occasion the Queen's counsel have had support from any persons save one of Her Majesty's inspectors of constabulary in service or retired.

Mr. Mayhew

From the records available, for the period 1 January 1978 to 31 December 1982 the following were Queen's counsel when appointed as chairmen of police disciplinary tribunals:

A. B. Ewbank Q.C. B. J. Appleby Q.C.
A. R. Vandermeer Q.C. H. J. Byrt Q.C.
A. P. Leggatt Q.C. J. M. Lever Q.C.
J. B. Mortimer Q.C. A. L. Mildon Q.C.
G. M. Hamilton T.D. Q.C. R. M. G. Simpson Q.C.
T. M. Dillion Q.C. C. D. R. Rose Q.C. (twice)
G. E. Moriarty Q.C. H. C. Taylor Q.C.
J. M. Drinkwater Q.C. E. D. R. Stone Q.C.
I. Judge Q.C. J. W. Rant Q.C.
J. H. Rooke T. D. Q.C. J. A. Chadwin Q.C.
B. A. Hytner Q.C. (twice) H. K. Goddard, Q.C.
M. J. Turner Q.C. B. Hargrove O.B.E. Q.C. (twice.
D. N. Keating Q.C. G. J. K. Coles Q.C.
P. N. Garland Q.C. D. Barker Q.C.
R. M. Yorke Q.C. B. S. Green Q.C.
Miss S. A. Ritchie Q.C. B. H. Pryor Q.C.
J. M. T. Rogers Q.C. J. Lloyd-Eley Q.C.
P. Ashworth Q.C. A. W. Palmer Q.C.
S. A. Stamler Q.C. A. T. Hoolahan Q.C.
R. G. Rougier Q.C. J. W. Rogers Q.C.
R. D. Grey Q.C. J. D. Alliott Q.C.
D. 0. Thomas Q.C. R. N. Thomas Q.C.
A. F. Waley Q.C. J. P. Gorman Q.C.
P. M. Baker Q.C. M. J. Pratt Q.C.

In addition the following juniors were appointed as chairmen:

J. M. A. Barker D. A. Smith
A. J. D. Nicholl D. B. D. Lowe
H. H. Andrew L. G. Krikler
C. J. Crespi D. E. Roberts
A. C. Macdonald J. A. Stannard
P. M. Beard D. J. R. Wilcox
C. N. Lees J. S. Oakes
J. C. Willis R. D. L. Kelly

and two solicitors, Mr. D. H. Harrison and Mrs. M. F. Norrie.

In each case the chairman would be supported only by a serving or retired member of Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Constabulary.

Forward to