HC Deb 20 December 1983 vol 51 cc196-7W
Mr. Dubs

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will publish a list of those countries, including Commonwealth countries, with which Her Majesty's Government have treaty obligations that might oblige them, under specific circumstances, to provide military assistance.

Mr. Rifkind

We have treaty or similar arrangements with the following countries: Bahrain, Belgium, Belize, Brunei, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, France, Germany (Federal Republic), Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Qatar, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States.

The nature of the arrangements varies, from an obligation in some cases to provide military assistance to commitments in other cases to consult on matters of mutual concern in time of need.