HC Deb 19 December 1983 vol 51 c69W
Mr. Farr

asked the Secretary of State for Social Services if he will list those countries throughout the world with which Her Majesty's Government have entered into a social security convention either enabling United Kingdom pensioners there to receive an annual uprating and, separately, those countries where a convention has been entered into to enable United Kingdom pensioners there to qualify for those countries' pensions.

Dr. Boyson

Under EC regulations or under bi-lateral agreements on social security, British pensioners are entitled to receive uprating increases in the following countries:

Austria, Belgium, Bermuda, Cyprus, Denmark, France, The Federal Republic of Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guernsey, Irish Republic, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jersey, Luxembourg, Malta, Mauritius, Netherlands, Portugal, Sark, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, USA, Yugoslavia.

Her Majesty's Government have concluded Social Security conventions with Australia and New Zealand under which those countries take account of periods of United Kingdom residence in awarding their Old Age Pensions. Also, under the terms of Social Security conventions concluded with Finland, Norway, and Sweden, the country concerned will, for the purpose of entitlement to its old age pension, in certain circumstances, treat a United Kingdom national as its own national.