HC Deb 27 April 1983 vol 41 c338W
Mr. John Carlisle

asked the Minister for Trade which Ministers or officials from his Department have visited South Africa since May 1979; and what was the duration of their stays.

Mr. Peter Rees

[pursuant to the reply, 25, April 1983, c. 233.]: No Ministers have visited South Africa since May 1979.

The following officials have made visits:

Official Rank Duration of stay
J. Caines Deputy Secretary 10–17 February 1982
R. Williams Under Secretary 10–14 November 1980
R. E. Clarke Asistant Secretary 30 January-6 February 1980
D. R. Ford Assistant Secretary 28 November-3 December 1982
R. M. Rumbelow Assistant Secretary Ditto
D. P. Dick Director, Special Export Services 21–24 October 1979
M. J. Maddigan Director (Exports) Ditto
R. L. Collins Principal 15–25 October 1979
25–30 October 1980
3–8 June 1981
21–25 November 1981
G. E. Brown Higher Executive Officer 29 October-1 November 1980
D. J. Nixon Executive Officer 3–8 July 1980
J. R. Taylor Executive Officer 26 September-5 October 1982