HC Deb 11 March 1982 vol 19 c463W
Mr. Garet-Jones

asked the Prime Minister which Government Department has responsibility for United Kingdom participation in the common agricultural policy regimes for tobacco, cotton, flax, hemp and silkworms.

The Prime Minister

The Agriculture Ministers have, with effect from 5 March 1982, assumed responsibility for the EC common agricultural policy regimes in these commodities, and will act as sponsor Department for United Kingdom producers, if any. The Secretary of State for Industry will continue to have general policy responsibility for these commodities and there will be close liaison between all the Departments to ensure that full account is taken of the interests both of any United Kingdom producers and of the user industries.

Forward to