HC Deb 13 May 1981 vol 4 c302W
Mr. David Hunt

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment whether he can announce further appointments to the board of the Merseyside Development Corporation.

Mr. Heseltine

I have today made the following appointments:

Cllr.SirTrevorJones,K.B.E. —Liverpool City Council
Cllr. Thomas Robert Glover —Sefton Borough Council
Cllr. John Hale —Wirral Borough Council
Philip David Carter —Managing Director, The Littlewoods Organisation Ltd.
Professor Graham William Ashworth —Professor of Urban Environmental Studies, University of Salford
Dr. Noel Thomas Boaden —Dean of the Faculty of Social and Environmental Studies University of Liverpool
John Leighton-Boyce —Deputy Chairman of Pilkingtons Brothers Limited;
Director, National Westminster Bank Ltd;
Chairman, County Bank Ltd.

I propose to make further appointments in due course. As the House knows, the chairman of the board is Leslie Young, C.B.E., and the deputy chairman is Sir Kenneth Thompson, Bt. The chief executive, Mr. Basil Bean, is also a member of the board.