HC Deb 19 June 1981 vol 6 cc461-2W
Mr. Jim Lester

asked the Secretary of Stae for Social Services what further decisions he is able to announce about the future administrative structures for health services; and if he will make a statement.

Dr. Vaughan

I am pleased to be able to announce that my right hon. Friend has made decision on the recommendations of Trent regional health authority and on those parts of South-West Thames, North-West Thames and North-East Thames not affected by the recommendations of the London advisory group. Subject to the necessary orders being made in due course, the following district health authorities will be established and will come into being on 1 April 1982. To allow time for final consultation, decisions on the remainder of the Thames regions and on South-Western region will be announced shortly.

Trent Regional Health Authority Resident Population
North Derbyshire 355,000
Southern Derbyshire 515,000
Leicestershire 836,000
North Lincolnshire 261,000
South Lincolnshire 273,000
Bassetlaw 99,000
Central Nottinghamshire 276,000
Nottingham 600,000
Barnsley 222,000
Doncaster 287,000
Rotherham 249,000
Sheffield 544,000

As a result of the changes the present eight area authorities and 14 districts will be reduced to 12 new district authorities. Both Leicestershire and Nottingham are large authorities, but we are confident that they can be managed in accordance with the policy set out in HC(80)8.

South West Thames Region Resident Population
Chichester 163,000
Cuckfield and Crawley 250,000
Worthing 231,000
Croydon 321,000
West Surrey and North East Hampshire 267,000
South West Surrey 173,000
East Surrey 185,000
North West Thames Region Resident Population
North Bedfordshire 233,000
South Bedfordshire 266,000
North Hertfordshire 178,000
East Hertfordshire 278,000
North West Hertfordshire 253,000
South West Hertfordshire 242,000
Barnet 290,000
Harrow 197,000
Brent 252,000
Hillingdon 229,000
North East Thames Region Resident Population
Basildon and Thurrock 271,000
Mid Essex 253,000
North East Essex 274,000
West Essex (excluding any part of East Hertfordshire) 250,000
Southend 312,000
Barking, Havering and Brentwood (coterminous with the London Boroughs of Barking, Dagenham and Havering and the County District of Brentwood) 466,000
Redbridge 229,000
Waltham Forest 218,000
Enfield (excluding the Hertfordshire County District of Broxbourne) 261,000
Haringey 224,000

Forward to