HL Deb 15 July 1981 vol 422 cc1365-6WA
Lord Avebury

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What were the names of the members of the Standing Advisory Committee on Trunk Road Assessment at the date of the retirement of Sir George Leitch as chairman; who replaced Sir George Leitch and what is the new chairman's relevant experience; what other members of the committee have since relinquished their positions and under what circumstances; what are the names of the members who remain in office since before Sir George's departure; what new members have been appointed; and, in each case, what is their relevant experience.

The Earl of Avon

The membership was:

  • Sir George Leitch, KCB, OBE;
  • R. Beckham, Esq., OBE;
  • Professor M. E. Beesley;
  • W. H. Deakin, Esq.;
  • Professor J. Durbin;
  • N. G. Ellis, Esq., OBE;
  • Dr. S. Glaister;
  • Professor P. Hall;
  • M. H. Middleton, Esq., CBE;
  • Dr. J. D. C. A. Prideaux;
  • Professor T. E. H. Williams, CBE.

The terms of office of all the members expired in autumn 1980. Sir George Leitch told the Secretary of State that, after four years' service on the Standing Advisory Committee and its predecessor, he did not wish to be considered for a further appointment. The Secretary of State announced in December 1980 that the committee was to remain in being, and that Professor Williams had been appointed chairman. In addition to his four years' experience on the committee and its predecessor, Professor Williams is Professor of Civil Engineering at Southampton University and has wide experience of transport and civil engineering matters.

The Secretary of State announced in June 1981 the changes in membership, reflecting his acceptance of the view of the previous members that, with three important reports published and major improvements already made in the assessment of new roads, the work of the committee was likely to be more specialised than in the past. Moreover, a number of previous members had indicated that, after in many cases four years' work on highly technical issues, they did not wish to serve a further term.

In addition to Professor Williams, Mr. Deakin, County Planning Officer for Kent, has been re-appointed for a further term. Those appointed for a first term are:—

W. P. Bradshaw, Esq. Director of Strategic Development, British Railways Board (Railway operations, management, and economic appraisal).
J. D. Lockhart, Esq. Managing Director, Transport Development Group Ltd. (Road Freight Industry).
T. J. Powell, Esq. Director, Cooper Lybrand Associates Ltd. (Transport Economist).
H. J. Wooton, Esq. Partner, Wootton Jefferys and Partners (Civil Engineer and Traffic Engineer).