HC Deb 09 December 1981 vol 14 cc436-7W
Mr. Latham

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment whether he has reviewed the membership of the radioactive waste management advisory committee at the end of the initial three year period of appointment.

Mr. Giles Shaw

My right hon. Friend, with my right hon. Friends the Secretaries of State for Scotland and Wales, has jointly made the following appointments and reappointments to the radioactive waste management advisory committee, which is chaired by Sir Denys Wilkinson FRS, vice-chancellor of Sussex university.

Until August 1985

  • *The Marchioness of Anglesey, CBE, LLD, Former Member of Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution.
  • Professor B. Funnell, MA, PhD, Professor of Environmental Sciences, University of East Anglia.
  • Professor J. R. Greening, PhD, DSc, FInstP, FRSE, Professor of Medical Physics, Edinburgh University.
  • Professor C.K. Rowley, BA, PhD, Professor of Economics, University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Until August 1984

  • Mr. P. N. Adams, National Officer, Electrical Electronic, Telecommunications and Plumbing Union.
  • *Professor C. Hanson, BSc, PhD, CEng, CChem, FIMechE, FRSC, FIMM, Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Bradford and Member of Advisory Committee on the Safety of Nuclear Installations.
  • Mr. L. Lewis, CEng MIEE, Member of the Institute of Professional Civil Servants.
  • *Mr. R. R. Matthews, MA, CEng, FIMechE, FIEE, FIChemE, Director of Health and Safety, Central Electricity Generating Board.
  • Mr. R. B. Pepper, BSc, MInstP, Member of the Electrical Power Engineers Association.

Until August 1983

  • Dr. D. G. Avery, BSc, PhD, FInstP, Deputy Managing Director, British Nuclear Fuels Limited.
  • Dr. S. H. U. Bowie, BSc, DSc, FRS, FEng, FRSE, FIMM, FMSA, Independent Geological Consultant, Visiting Professor of Applied Geology, University of Strathclyde.
  • Dr. L. E. J. Roberts, CBE, MA, DPhil, FRSC, Member of the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority and Director of the Atomic Energy Research Establishment, Harwell.
  • Dr. R. Scott Russell, CBE, PhD, DSc, FIBiol, Former Director Agricultural Research Council Letcombe Laboratory.
  • Mr. D. R. Smith, MA CEng, Manager, Technical Departmental, Thermal Reactor Division, National Nuclear Corporation.
  • * New appointment.
  • Professor D. R. Williams, PhD, DSc, CChem, FRSC, Professor of Chemistry, University of Wales Institute of Science and Technology, was previously appointed to fill a vacancy, for a term ending in December 1983. Some further appointments may be made in due course. The expiry dates of appointments to the Committee have now been staggered, to provide better continuity.